We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return for a third visit. ...and a fourth...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will return for a third visit. ...and a fourth...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Thanks to the first days of cold November weather, my mind meandered back to the warmth of summer vacations, and in turn, to the Old House Village Hotel & Spa. For two consecutive summers now, we have flown from Toronto to Vancouver Island to spent part of our vacation at the OHVH&S, relaxing in the spa, lazing by the pool, and resting soundly in our suite.

Having lived and travelled abroad for many years, vacations are no longer about exploring as they are about finding a place to rest and renew. The OHVH&S has become one of those places for us.

The accomodations are clean and comfortable. (Book a room/suite with a river view and watch the tides ebb and flow) The service (both hotel & spa) is amiable and considerate. And the location is surprising. (Though it is tucked behind a series of businesses along the main street, the river side of the complex is quiet and green. Walk down the riverside path, and stop for a coffee at the marina. Its a great way to start the day.)

Do not be put off by some of the less than glowing reviews on this site. I have experienced terrible hotel service and accomodation in my travels. The OHVH&S is not on that list.

...and when you book your reservation at The OHVH&S, be sure to make a reservation for dinner at LOCALS. It is a fantastic restaurant that specializes in sourcing locally grown / raised ingredients. Its the perfect conclusion to a day spent in the spa.

Room Tip: Book early, and request a room on the river side of the main building. Top floor provides beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    221
    58
    13
    10
See reviews for
163
312
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
richmond, bc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have been coming here for business during the last year and always look forward to coming. Check in is efficient but friendly. The rooms come with kitchens. The beds are comfortable. This time I scored a 1 bedroom king witha view of the river. I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedogsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

A girlfriends get away, we had had great service from checking in, the welcome gift in our room which was fabulous, to the friendly staff especially Vanessa on the front desk and the hotel manager Kerry. Kerry took time to tell us all the things to do in the Comox Valley and the different restaurants to go to. The spa experience was wonderful, love the hot stone massage followed by reflexology.

Room Tip: For a girlfriends trip away ask for the top floor that has the two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twokgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I am probably being generous with an average rating. Hotel came recommended by fellow salesperson, and so decided to stay here instead of the Holiday Inn Express. Nicest part of the hotel was the front desk. Looked impressive. Parking was good, as I was close to main entrance. Initial impression of the room was that it was spacious, almost too spacious as the tv screen was far away, and they really could benefit from bigger screens. Room was quiet, and it looks like they have a nice pool with jacuzzi area. Didn't use their restaurant. As a previous reviewer had mentioned the bed mattress is hard, and not too my liking (personal opinion, but if you like a soft mattress, you're not going to get it here. Also as a previous reviewer had said the rooms are too hot. I woke up in the middle of the night, and the roo. Was at 22 degrees. I had one of two options, open the door (no security), or turn on the air conditioning, which I did. Keep in mind this wasn't Summer, and in fact it was snowing last night. The biggest issue was when I used the bathroom the following morning and noticed that there was a red stain, with streaks running down the wall where the towel hanger was. The cleaning staff should have noticed this. I did inform the lady at the front desk, and she apologized and wrote my complaint down, but she didn't really seem to care, and went immediately back to being overly cheery. I did not hear back from the manager with an apology. Will go back to the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squirmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Excellent service, clean rooms, friendly staff.and especially the manager Carrie. She was very kind and took time out of her vusy day for us to thank her personally!! Highly recommend this hotel and the spa was fabulous as well. Try the couple massages. The massage therapists are very good and they even had registered massage therapists as well. We will be back next year!
Cheers,
The Bowman's

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We booked in advance and planned on using the hotel as a base for exploring the Comox Valley, based on the positive reviews.

On registering, we were not given the requested riverview room, but without explanation we were assigned to a room facing the highway link between Courtenay and Comox. We had requested a very quiet room

When we stay for more than one day we like to unpack, rather than live our of our suitcases. Guess what - no dresser. We used a couple of the small, inadequate drawers in the kitchenette. The drawer in the night table was seized, so was not of much use.

The bedside radio could not be switched to FM and the drain in the soaker tub did not function properly

When we went out for the morning we hung the sign on the door requesting that the room be made up. When we returned just after noon, it had not been made up, and when we left after we had our lunch we found a sign saying that our room would not be made up because it had not been available to housekeeping. I found the housekeeper, and she told us that the rooms where guests were checking out received priority. She did make up the room before we returned.

Some of the deficiencies seem to be typical in hotels because (a) they are not noted by housekeeping and (b) guests do not pass the information on to management.

It would be convenient if there was an indoor connection to the Old House Resaurant (not owned by the hotel) and the hotel, and if arrangements were made to bill meals to the hotel account.

I know that this is a litany of small things, but enough to make us try a different hotel the next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepherd1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Staying at the Old House Village Resort & Spa was truely a treat. The 1 bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen large bathroom with soaker tub and separate shower. My room had a balcony overlooking the river and fields beyond, a beautiful view of the Comox valley. I enjoyed returning at the end of the day to use the outside hot tub and warm pool. It was very relaxing and a treat to enjoy in the evening. Taking advantage of the Oct special 2 hours body scrub and facial was a wonderful relaxing spa experience. I will certainly return to the spa.
A few improvement opportunities, include the lack of shelf, hooks in the large bathroom. For the environment we are all encouraged to think before requesting clean towels, only problem no place to hang the towels to dry because they are usually folded on a the towel shelf when dry. The one hook has room enough for one bathrobe. Also very small vanity, need some other shelf space for the numerous paraphanalia that tends to accompany us during our travels. Also no dresser in the bedroom, one king bed with two large full closets with rail and hangers but no dresser or shelf or drawers, I needed to keep the no hanging things in my suitcase.
Over my 10 day stay I had the opportunity to speak with many staff and they were all very positive and helpful. This includes the front desk staff, housekeeping and I think maintenance and security type staff.

Yes I would recommend the Old House Village Resort and Spa and will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for room away from the bridge. There is a metal grate on the bridge which you will hear all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriatraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing