We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildlife c/o The Old House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wildlife c/o The Old House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I just took advantage of an offer The Old House put on this last Thanksgiving weekend for a couple night stay combined with a Grizzly Bear watching tour with Aboriginal Journeys out of Campbell River. This combo was amazing. We love the Old House rooms, the staff are so friendly and accomodating, the food delicious at the restaurant, the hot tub soothing and the massages tres relazing at the Oh Spa. This was our second weekend stay at the Old House, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, we were amazed that one of the ladies at reception remembered us from our stay in August! We had some scuba gear that we needed to store after a 3 day stay and while going on a short 3 -day backpack in Strathcona Park and the folks at Old House found a spot to store our gear, giving us piece of mind. Thanks for going the extra mile!

This time around the service was just as exceptional with the front desk staff co-ordinating our grizzly watching excursion with Garry of Aboriginal Journies, asking them all the questions we had and providing us with instructions of how to get to their office. The day out was spectacular from top to bottom! We had lovely weather - a break between two rain/storm systems - the covered boat ride was comfortable and warm and Garry's knowledge of the local waters was second to none. He would tell us about all the islands, some local and natural history, stories about residents and local issues, and answer any questions we had as we cruised over to Bute Inlet. The beauty of the area is tremendous, with fall colours on shore and snow capped peaks. We were blessed with sighting 7 or 8 grizzlies, including a mom and her 1 1/2 year old cub, who fished in the stream and lounged in the sun nearby one of the viewing towers, on and off most of the afternoon! It was an honour to be in the presence of these gorgeous animals in their home. To top it off we saw seals, eagles, sea lions, a humpback whale and 3 transient Orca whales on the trip to and from the inlet. Garry kept in touch by radio with other whale watching tours in the area to find out about local sightings and we were the beneficiaries of that co-operation! I would highly recommend this tour and hope that Old House offers it again in years to come. Either through Old House or on your own this is a once in a lifetime experience that you must not miss. We would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggyhiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    221
    58
    13
    10
See reviews for
163
312
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just had to tell you my last stay( the night of the Mayor’s Tournament) @ the Old House was wonderful as usual.
Vanessa is so great—her service, her smile and her efficiency—she even remembered me from prior visits which impressed me !
Thank you !


Karen Hanson
RKH Promotional Products
www.rkhpromotionalproducts.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My review is most likely skewed for the simple fact I had not seen my daughter for over a year, and that was for to say goodbye to her grandfather who died the day after she left.
Back to the hotel, I found out that my daughter had asked for a different room, which seemed to be no trouble at all, yeah! We had a nice view of the path that travels quite a distance into Courtenay, the body of water between Comox and Courtenay, and the Old House Restaurant. Of course, when getting together after so long we did not spend much time looking at the view - but it was nice to know it was there.
Coffee and tea is available in the lobby, with creamers, I hate powdered pretend cream. We made coffee in the room, perfect size pot for two cups; there was a small kitchenette fully supplied with dishes etc. We did not do the dishes we used - not sure if it was expected as there was not a notice, besides this was not a time for drudgery. If they wanted that done it should have been posted.
comfortable, clean, above average, and quiet. Even the pool and hot tub below were not too noisy. Overall I would say this was for a one night stay. Check out was far too early, although 10:00AM seems to be normal these days - we managed to get it extended to noon.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room, preferably before using anything, ask to switch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicbc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

my partner and i stayed here on the sept. long weekend. had the one bedroom suite-full
kitchen. right from the booking-jill-awesome-very friendly, to the front desk staff-the place
is great. we checked in early-no problem. the suite was perfect-the right size and very
cozy. we even left a dvd in the player after we left, and they arranged to take it back to the
place we rented it from. very clean, great grounds, pool. the gym is in the basement with
no windows-that really is a shame-with the great view of river-that would be our only
disappointment in the place. we will definatly be back!!

Room Tip: rooms in the part on the furthest side away from the bridge-would hear less road traffic over metal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Old House for an amazing weekend! Our upgraded suite was lovely overlooking the beaytiful grounds. We headed to the spa for massages which was one of the best massages I have ever had. Dinner at the restaurant as well as breakfast were fantastic! Not a bad thing to say.......a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The front desk staff was so helpful they had us checked in and on our way in no time. We had no idea what to expect from a resort in Courtenay, to our delight the rooms were very modern, the kitchen had everything we could possibly want. The bedroom was very welcoming and comfortable. This will deffinetley be our spot during the ski season, it is 15 minutes at the most from Mt.Washington. The Spa was breath taking, the atmosphere they have created their needs to be experienced first hand. We would strongly suggest anyone who is heading up to the mountain or just looking for a getaway check this place out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarke2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights and were disappointed by the inconsistent service. The front desk staff ranged from excellent to hostile depending on the day.
Even though they knew there were 5 of us staying in the room, there were only 2 sets of towels. I called to request extra towels and they never arrived.
The housekeeping staff were all over the map. On the first day they went completely overboard - instead of just cleaning the room, they went through our things and moved our stuff all over the room, putting it into cabinets and drawers instead of leaving it where we had placed it. But after that they often wouldn't even remember to replace the toilet paper or kleenex.
The staff were very helpful with trying to solve a problem with the wireless but it still took about 5 days before I had reasonably reliable wireless in the room.
The kitchen is large and well-stocked and a huge help for a long stay, but if you don't need it there are other good hotels in town. The Holiday Inn is nice with very friendly staff. We also visited family in a new room at the Best Western and we were blown away with how nice the room was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCBusinessTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as this will assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

My front desk staff are all very aware that I will make myself available to any of our guests who wish to speak with me regarding their experience good or not so good. I am open to all feedback and encourage our staff to offer my contact information. I believe you were given my card and therefore I am disappointed that during the 8 days of your stay with us that I did not receive a telephone call or email advising me of your dissatisfaction. I am confident that any issues you were having could have been rectified immediately.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 250 703-0980.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing