We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My coffee tasted burnt!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serious Coffee - CLOSED

Serious Coffee
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Serious Coffee Courtenay café is a locally owned and operated coffee shop featuring fresh locally roasted coffee, teas, free Wi-Fi, parking and meeting space for small to mid-sized events. Serious Coffee Courtenay offers the perfect event space for your next gathering.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My coffee tasted burnt!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We wish we could give a good review but my coffee, an Americano, tasted burnt. The parking was murder in that tiny strip-mall and too many dirty tables not cleared off in the coffee shop. All in all, not a place we will return to, or attempt to return to in Courtenay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great lattes and we like to support local businesses. They have a unique space with very comfortable seating and warm, cozy atmosphere. Nice staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always good coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great spot to sit with your late and book. Comfy chairs and staff that doesn't chase you out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Where to go for your cuppa joe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I used to trip very often between Powell River on the mainland and Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, where my daughter attended university. That trip involves a 1.5-hour ferry ride and a drive of about the same length. There was one target stop on that route--Serious Coffee in Courtenay. On the wrong side of the main drag on the southward leg of the trip, but worth the trouble of turning the car around and tying up the dog under the nearby trees. It's my mini-holiday from the rain and my hectic schedule. The place is always warm and comfortable, full of interesting people and the sound of good conversation, pleasantly littered with books and reading material--and alive with the heavenly aroma of seriously good coffee. The food menu may have changed since I was there so I won't go into details about it; suffice it to say that the variety of coffeetime and breakfasty goodies tempted some money right out of my wallet, whereas normally I'm too much of a purist to indulge in anything but espresso-style coffee, no sugar or other additions, thank you very much. There's a good tea menu, too.
Next trip to the Island, you'll find me indulging in another mini-holiday at this coffee shop. Seriously.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Coffee also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing