We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Experience”

The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar
Ranked #30 of 149 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A great dining experience. Service was excellent. Food was great and well presented. The Galaxie Music Channel was a little loud and perhaps too modern.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prime-Management, Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear that you had a nice experience here with us. In terms of music, we are always trying to get feedback from our guests in terms of what music is desired and to what level depending on the time of day so thank you for keeping us informed as it helps us refine all the different parts of creating the right environment. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stopped in for after dinner drinks on a Saturday night. The waitress messed up our drinks- actually poured 2 different wines into one glass and didn't even apologize or credit the bill. Pretty harsh when you are paying $10/glass. The venue is nice but the service SUCKS!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BlakeHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prime-Management, Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your response and am sorry that you did not have a good experience, as in the event of something like that happening all of our staff should know to replace the item without question as although definitely a mistake it is not your fault and should not have to deal wit the result. I hope that outside of coming online your server was notified and allowed the chance to rectify the problem as it seems as though they did not know of the error and were therefore unable to make right by it and make sure that your experience was from that point on better. As for our wine prices we have many choices on the menu including wines in the $6.oo range to give a wide spectrum of taste and price point for people to choose from. If you would like to discuss this further, I would like the chance to make it up to you.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I decided to go out for a nice Dinner for our anniversary on Sat. He suggested to try out Prime again. So happy Prime was our choice for the evening. Great Food and great friendly Service. We were looking at the appetizer menu while our server Carol was opening our bottle of wine. We asked her what would be a good choice to try and she highly recommended the Scallop & Bacon. No disappointment there. Delicious and mouth watering. My husband had a 8 oz Fillet 'Med Rare' and was done exactly how she explained it. I had the 4oz Fillet which was nice to see on the menu as a lighter meal for those of us who are not big eaters. We definitely will return. So nice to see a big change in the menu, food and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauralee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prime-Management, Manager at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and glad to hear that you had a great experience with Karole. As a restaurant we are continually trying to refine all aspects of what we do and what we offer to tailor our offering to the requests and expectations of the local market here and have had great responses from our menu change that looks at offering smaller portions and also getting more aggressive in terms of costing and therefore hopefully increase the perceived value for our guests coming through our door. As we move forward we are looking to continue to tweak our offering to continue to offer great value and experience to all of our guests. Hope that we see you again soon and thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Last August we were looking to choose a restaurant for a family members 60th Birthday in October. As we were on the island we decided to go and visit some of the establishments to find the one best suited for our needs. We arrived at The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar prior to it opening for the night so the doors were locked, however a young gentleman saw us and opened up to speak with us, as it turns out he was the Owner and Manager of the restaurant Kory Wagstaff. Graciously he took the time to show us around the restaurant and explained what he could do to accommodate our party of 15 for our function in October, because of the personal touch extended to use and the excellent reviews on tripadvisor we booked our function and were looking quite forward to it. A couple of days before we were to fly from Calgary to Comox I telephoned Kory requesting a cake for the occasion, and it was no problem, he sourced out a cake for us from a reputable bakery in Courtney and ordered it for our dinner. Unfortunately due to heavy fog we were unable to fly into Comox or anywhere else on the island and were forced to cancel our trip. When I called Kory to explain our situation, apologize for canceling the dinner reservation for 15 persons on such short notice, and offering to pay for the cake, we were quite surprised and impressed by Kory's response, which was that he thanked us for keeping him informed of the situation and not to worry about the cost of the cake. But asked that the next time that we were in the area that we would come and have a meal so that we could see what we were missing. Even though we weren't able to enjoy a meal at the restaurant, the personal service and gracious gesture of this owner/manager is to be commended and will surely bring us to his door the next time we come to Courtney.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank mhawley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I travel all of north America and had the good fortune to be in Courtenay on the 8th and 9th of Oct. 2013 and really enjoy the food and service at the Prime Chophouse. The Keg and Ruth's Chris could take a lesson on what a steak house is all about. My steak was done to perfection, rare of course, and the veggies were cooked to still have a little crunch with lots of flavor. Drinks and food were all delivered by people who really enjoy the hospitality industry, and it shows. You people living in the Courtenay area are so fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber in your back yard.....please enjoy it, I know I will on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gordon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Prime Chophouse and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing