We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice decor good food”
Review of Kinaree Thai

Kinaree Thai
Ranked #87 of 144 Restaurants in Courtenay
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Comox, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“nice decor good food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The decor reminds you of being in Thailand. I went for the salad and pad thai lunch combo. It was good but I expected it
to be a bit more peanuty. Cost was good

Helpful?
Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Devine”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I always leave Kinaree feeling satiated. I love the yellow curry and the garlic mussel appy. Friendly service and great food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CVserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best replica of time-honored Thai cuisine”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Over all it was fair, not really good nor bad. Traditional Thai food is not always popular for westerns, thus many restaurants tailor recipes to the Falang (foreigners) taste. We went the first time with a group and were not overly impressed as the food tasted watered down; lacking some punch regarding spice. In fairness we tried it again and well, it was okay, but certainly not anything to rave about. If you don't know Thai food you will probably enjoy, but for the more discerning customers, I would take a pass.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Alright, but not amazing..”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am a Thai food enthusiast, I love it and I make it at home a lot. Kinaree was disappointing to say the least. The server was rude and actually argued with me. The food portions we small and over priced. I do not like carrots in my Thai food, there is no carrots in thai food in Thailand.
I may give this restaurant another chance sometime, but for now I wouldn't suggest it, unless you are desperate for Thai food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveSummerSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm friendly and comfortable atmosphere with you excellent authentic that cuisine.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I love every second in this restraunt. The staff was among the friendliest of any restraunt I've been to, which is saying a lot because I eat out everyday. I has drunken prawns over steamed rice. There was so much flavor in my dish I was completely amazed. The prawns were perfectly cooked. The seasoning was subtle and exact. Not like some heavy handed places I have been.

I would go back to Kinaree Thai again and again just so I can try their whole menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFuzzyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinaree Thai also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Kinaree Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing