We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to its name!”

The Hen and Hog Cafe
Ranked #4 of 144 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lived up to its name!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Our family was passing through Courtenay on an island exploring day and stopped in for lunch. The food was fabulous! We had crepes, omelettes, and French Toast. All three meals were presented elegantly. My crepes came with fruit made to look like a swan. The French Toast had strawberry, blueberry and orange mango compotes in a lovely design complete with happy face for my daughter. Their in house hot sauce is to die for. We ended up buying two bottles. If only we could go back we would! Highly, highly recommended. Great service staff as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rachjamie21-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    41
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
“All time favorites!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

One of my favorite places to eat. The staff are all very pleasant and kind and the food portions are superb! Made from scratch, affordable and all around excellent. Highly recommend this "breakfast join!" Thanks ladies for making it very special!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaVesseral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Local secret is out...darn...we'll have to wait in line...”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

David has put together a gathering place that is relaxing fun entertaining and I haven't begun to talk about the food. The food is delicious, healthy, fresh and satisfying. Ohhh So Yummy Cafe is our first pick always...highly recommended and you won't be disappointed. The wait in line is worth it everytime.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Terrific, creative food served with style. Everything is excellent and fresh. The place is frequently packed with locals and there's a reason why - it's simply the best breakfast in town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 48Dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went with friends for breakfast and we all enjoyed all meals! I loved the french toast, my husband had rancheros, our friends had eggs Benedict and the omelette. Great place and very friendly service! I highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen and Hog Cafe also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to The Hen and Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing