We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food”
Review of Bamboo Garden Restaurant - CLOSED

Bamboo Garden Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is by far the best Chinese food in the valley. Portions are great, and some of the best deep fried won ton we have ever had. There is actually a big portion of meat in them, not the little speck you get some places.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarleneG507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    17
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food & clean place”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I went there yesterday and the food was very good. One thing i noticed though is that the sweet and sour pork was a little on the cold side. They have very "diffrent" food then most other chinese places though (BBQ Duck). In the bathroom, the sinks are pretty neat, these red bowls that the water goes into. I would come back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Chinese food. Really?”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Bamboo Gardens is an example of not being able to expect authenticity in 'Small Town BC' when dining at an ethnic restaurant. Sad. They obviously cater to those who are not really familiar with Asian cuisine. The buffet choices are limited and the food is neither fresh nor tasty. However, the service was fine.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank laylaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't eat here if you are diabetic!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I am on the slippery slope of diabetes. Which means I try to avoid obviously sweetened food. Which means that most of the food on the smorgasboard is probably not a good idea. The sweet and sour items are candy-like. The batter on the shrimp and fish (which is large and fluffy) tastes sweet.

I do eat there ocassionally as I work near there and the lunch deal is very economical. I always think as I'm leaving, that I really shouldn't be eating what they serve. Salt and sweet. They do run out of food regularly but the up side to this is they bring out fresh amounts. The steam table doesn't seem to keep the food hot enough so if you are eating the bottom of a dish - its probably luke warm as well as sweet and salty.

Sigh. I like the idea of a smorgasboard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sointula
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food & wonderful service”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have been to this family run restaurant many times while passing through Courtenay and have always enjoyed the food and experience. The service is very efficient and happy to serve.
The buffet is extremely plentiful and delicious. They serve Chinese,Cantonese,Szechuan & Chinese food. Their fried squid is so tasty and tender that one could chew it without teeth.The best squid I believe on the coast. Their dessert bar is always filled with different cakes, jello, ice cream and our own B.C. Nanaimo Bars.
Families of all ages are welcome and the Seniors are well taken care even to a discount on the bill.
I've recommended this restaurant to many of our friends from Vancouver to Port Hardy.
ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing