We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Garden Restaurant - CLOSED

Bamboo Garden Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sointula
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food & wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have been to this family run restaurant many times while passing through Courtenay and have always enjoyed the food and experience. The service is very efficient and happy to serve.
The buffet is extremely plentiful and delicious. They serve Chinese,Cantonese,Szechuan & Chinese food. Their fried squid is so tasty and tender that one could chew it without teeth.The best squid I believe on the coast. Their dessert bar is always filled with different cakes, jello, ice cream and our own B.C. Nanaimo Bars.
Families of all ages are welcome and the Seniors are well taken care even to a discount on the bill.
I've recommended this restaurant to many of our friends from Vancouver to Port Hardy.
ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    17
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“more like Boo! garden”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

There are better options in this town for Chinese buffet. First, the decor - its a very plain big open room with tables, very utilitarian. It didn't help that the big screen TVs were playing "Family Feud". More importantly, the smorgasbord selection was pretty weak, and not great quality. The almonds in the Almond Gai Dong were very stale. The wonton soup had not very good wontons, The veggie chow mein was lean on veggies. the sweet and sour pork was very overdone and kind of yucky. The deep fried chicken balls and shrimp were pretty typically doughy. One bright spot was the beef and green beans (in black bean sauce). Also, most of the steam table bins were nearly empty - and this was peak lunch time on a Saturday. The desert selection was pretty bad .
All that said, the server/hostess was nice and friendly

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly, economical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

On my way to an appointment, I needed a quick place for lunch. Even though I arrived at opening time (11:30) the waitress was prompt and efficient in seating me and taking my order. By the time I finished my huge bowl of freshly made wonton soup chocked full of vegetables, the place had filled up - obviously a favorite for locals. Great comfort food that didn't make a big dent in my wallet. I've recommended the Bamboo Garden to others passing through Courtenay, and they found the same efficient service too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“fresh and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I just went a second time yesterday. The concept of a cheap filling lunch drew me back.
Open all but Christmas day, the lunch buffet starts at 1130 am. I understand the dinner buffet may have more items. You can order off the menu at lunch if you want. Although there is some Vietnamese influence and you can order pho etc seperately, the lunch buffet was definitely Chinese. Won ton soup, various sweet and sour, chicken , pork, beef dishes and spring rolls and battered shrimp.
Dessert has some cake squares and a fruit bowl. Water is your free beverage.
Staff are friendly. Cost around 10 dollars including HST.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing