We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love in my tummy”

Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe
Ranked #95 of 143 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $4 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Locally owned and operted since 1999 our family owned cafe is in an industrial part of town next to Value Village, we offer sit in, take out, delivery, phone ahead for drive thru option, kids toy area, handicap ramp, tons of parking even for dump trucks, Vegetarian falafils, Gluten free rice Wraps are or new option or our traditional White or Whole Wheat pita bread wrap your Beef & Lamb gyros topped with tzatziki, or East Coast Donair sauce. google us, or face book Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, send us an email we would love to hear from you. thanks katherine
Nanaimo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love in my tummy”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was surprised to see a couple of negative reviews on the food. We have eaten at Greek restaurants from Vancouver Island through to Toronto and we both love their food. Yes it is expensive to normal fast food places but we feel it is well worth it. The only thing missing is the atmosphere needs tweeking. It is not a place you can afford to go to everyday as is McDonald's (whose food I don't understand why people eat except for the price) but is comparable to a gourmet donair. I selected Families with children as being poor as unless you have a terrific income you could not afford to take the little ones there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beezee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gyros279, Owner at Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2017
well thanks for your comment and we get 60 - 100 people a day so as you can see you can not please everyone and have been in business for 18 yrs . and if you do apples for apples a family of 4 can eat at our store and probably pay less than Mcdonalds and eat better also
8,50 get you a gyros and pop and a bag of chips and most kids can not even eat a full gyros so 2 can dine for 6.50 and get all 4 food groups in there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It' a take out place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's fast food and it's ok. Good for a quick meal on the run but so is Mcdonalds except they don't sell Gyros. I will go back one day. It's small and the service is good and the prices are too.

Helpful?
Thank CampingGormet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gyros279, Owner at Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2017
see you tomorrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Donairs”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sorry but I'm an east coaster and the donairs just don't compare at all. You should name them something else, I found it misleading. And totally where's the cheese!!! Not that feta but real cheese and throw some meat on there..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisanewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gyros279, Owner at Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2017
well everyplace is different and we offer feta and about 90%of our customers have feta on their gyros. and back east I bet they make their own meat out of hamburger so it is a lot cheaper to make as I get mine from a supplier so they can load the meat up, but hey do you really need so much meat try us again it is now 2017 times change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

You won't be disappointed with the gyros. Freshly hand made. Atmosphere could use some updating though.

Helpful?
Thank payge2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gyros279, Owner at Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2017
well check out our pictures and fb page the atmosphere is all greek thanks hope to see you tomorrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Ate there 2 days in a row”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Found them only because they listed themselves in the tourism guide and we wanted something simple and fast. You have to know where they are located as they are on a side street.

First time it was the gyros (beef & lamb and chicken) and then we had to go back for the donairs for that sweet sauce.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gyros279, Owner at Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe, responded to this review, March 24, 2017
thanks still going strong for 18 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Yummies & Gyros Greek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing