We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right”

Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Ranked #47 of 150 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stopped in here on our way home.
We ordered pizza and it was good but could have used a little more spice to it.
Service was great and good selection of beer.

Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear dflyboy,
It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us know when we have met or exceeded expectations in their dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had dinner here on the long weekend. We ordered our drinks and decided on our choices, however, it took nearly 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive. We had calamari to start which was o.k. The portion was fairly large, however, it wasn't anything special taste wise. We ordered a second drink and water before our main came. Again, it was a very long time for the drinks to arrive. There were only 10 patrons in the restaurant and 3 waitresses and a bartender on shift so we were surprised at the wait. We each had fish and chips. Dad had the cod and I had the halibut. The batter was nice, not too thick. The fish was good. The chips came with a little too much pepper for my taste but wasn't bad. We had to ask for our water twice before getting it. I wouldn't hurry back. The food was o.k. but the service could use some help.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LadyDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear LadyDebby,
Thank you for writing your review, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we deliver a superior experience for guests in the future.
Warm regards
Linda Bigelow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Got a pizza that had only a very small smattering of goat cheese. I might just be an uncultured freak who can't appreciate pizza with small amounts of special cheese, honestly though, when I want pizza, I want cheese!

Thank Leanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Leanna K,
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make the experience as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We have a new chef and new menu and we look forward to you coming and seeing us again.
Linda Bigelow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our first visit here was on a night we arrived at a hotel across the street that does not have a restaurant. We wanted to walk somewhere, and this was closest. We were pleasantly surprised! The seafood chowder was EXCELLENT! My husband had a burger and it was perfect. Juicy, homemade and not over cooked. I had a steak sandwich -- not quite as good. Quality ingredients (the beef itself was tender and perfectly cooked) but it lacked flavour.
The server was friendly and prompt and really nice -- we had her again the next night too. I had an ice cream pie for dessert that was good also.
When we went the next night it was for late night drinks. There was some kind of weird international student house music thing going on. The same server was friendly and great and decent drinks, but we didn't eat or stay too long as the whole atmosphere was a bit different on that night.
Overall I would recommend, especially the chowder and burger.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maeve3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear maeve3313,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience in The Flying Canoe Westcoast Pub. We really appreciate it and also for recommending us to others! We often get great compliments on the outstanding service of our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back and seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our first time staying in Courtenay - and we decided to try the Flying Canoe just because it was at our hotel. The second time was because the food and service was great!

We sat on the patio the first day - nice and quiet - the server (great guy - knowledgable but not pushy!) recommended the Macadamia Nut Crusted Halibut Ciabata - so I tried it and my husband tried the steak sandwich. We were more than impressed - food was nice and hot, fries crispy - and most of all, both sandwich choices were exceptional. The halibut was fresh and not overcooked - and the peach and cilantro relish was fresh. Steak was cooked as requested - tender and juicy.

The second night we ate inside - and even with other clients, it was still comfortable - not too noisy. We had the crab cakes, seafood chowder and in-house made dry ribs. All three choices were very good - again, served hot and nice and fresh. For me personally, the seasoning choice for the crab cakes was not to my taste - but the crab was fresh and cakes were crispy - try them to decide for yourself.

Thank you to the staff for the great service - we will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tourismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Tourismrocks, We very much appreciate the positive comments that we receive from our customers and share these with our staff who deserve a pat on the back for a job well done! We pride ourselves in helping make our customer's experience a positive one as it's the little things that make the difference.
Linda Bigelow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Canoe West Coast Pub also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Flying Canoe West Coast Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing