We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had to go home and cook my own dinner”

Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Ranked #43 of 144 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
comox valley, bc
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“had to go home and cook my own dinner”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

went with a friend and my husband to see the "best caeser in town" competition. Arrived early enough to get a table but we were invisible to the very young server. The place was busy but it took her 25 minutes to come over and get a drink order from us. We also ordered the chicken wings (which tasted fine) but were dropped off by a porter with no napkins. My husband who came later had to go up to the bar to buy his beer. The server never checked on us and though we told her we wanted to order dinner after our wings. She never, ever came over to us. We had menus on our table. Our drinks were sitting empty for 40 minutes. So was everyone elses' around us She had a full section but absolutely no support and did not know what she was doing. We watched her take one drink order and then go wait at the bar for 10 min, before coming back to her section. We were there for almost 2 hours and made the decision to go home and cook for ourselves. So disappointed in the Flying Canoe. Really, you didn't think it was going to be busy? You gave your least experienced server 10 tables? The F&B manager was sitting with friends enjoying the evening. Hope she was off duty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatWell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry to read that we were not able to provide you with the experience you had expected and we apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying.
Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your experience as positive and memorable as possible.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in some way in the future and would like you to contact myself or our Food & Beverage Manager Ben Frank.
Linda Bigelow, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    29
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Craft Beer Selection!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Really nice pup. Great ambiance, really nice craft beer selection from the island brewers. The staff were fun and chatty, and the food selection was exciting as well. Will be back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank prairiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alert Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but Slow”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We arrived after the drive down island happy to find a place with the hockey game on. The service was friendly and the organic chicken wings were wonderful. The down fall was our supper took 40 minutes to arrive and the place was not busy. The waitress was good about checking our drinks, however we were hungry.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Flying Canoe West Coast Pub, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,Thank you for the taking the time to provide us with feedback and writing your review, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we deliver a superior experience for guests in the future.
Linda Bigelow, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Canoe West Coast Pub also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Flying Canoe West Coast Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing