We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast alternative”

Plates Eatery & Catering Co
Ranked #36 of 143 Restaurants in Courtenay
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Plates Eatery is a modern full service, family friendly, casual dining spot open for breakfast and lunch 7 days a week from 7 am to 3 pm. Every Thursday night offering our famous Roast Beef and Yorkshire buffet. (From 4:30pm) Our menus (including prices) are on our website.We are fully licensed, have an outdoor patio in good weather, and provide complete off premise catering services.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Breakfast alternative”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We wanted a quick breakfast that was close to our location. And it met our needs. Service was good. The daily specials were very well priced. The food was tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Family friendly atmosphere, attentive servers. Great little area for kids to play whilst waiting for our food. We'll return again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank boyzbymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I chose to eat here only because I checked out of my previous motel because of the horrible food and treatment at Oh So Yummy. I checked into the Travelodge. This restaurant is right next door. I will give it a mixed review. I ate here twice. The first morning I had a waffle – most excellent. It was one of the best I’ve ever had. The second morning I had eggs benedict. The eggs, ham and English muffin were all fine. The hollandaise was quite strange and really didn't have any flavor whatsoever. The potatoes were horrific. They were those awful tater tot things that you might be able to get your kids to eat but you would never touch yourself. I only ate 1.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Every once in a while I drop in. Nothing much changes.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I donno. It looks like an old diner - has license plates (hence the name) and old gas station memorabilia. The waitresses look like they came from the Time Machine as well. Alas. Frozen boring fries, pre-fab burgers...etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merville
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Ruben Sandwich”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Plates makes one of the best Ruben sandwiches we have had anywhere. They are so big my wife and I split one between us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plates Eatery & Catering Co also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Plates Eatery & Catering Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing