We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and fun in the Comox Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Joy Rides

Island Joy Rides
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Courtenay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Joy Rides is a boutique Vancouver Island bicycle touring company offering premium day and multi-day guided and self-guided cycling experiences. We offer unique vacation packages featuring West Coast culture, seaside routes, wineries, farms, the local food scene, and the natural beauty of our area. Our commitment to small groups and a providing personal, behind the scenes tour guarantees a valued and memorable experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food and fun in the Comox Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Thank you Laurel and Kim for a memorable time in the fabulous Comox Valley. Westcoast Foodie is the appropriate name for this ride - the food was delicious (tasty snacks, great lunches & dinners), the wine tasting was fun and the company was great. And of course we can't say enough about the other guides we had - John and Sonja. You did a wonderful job of making this trip very special and one of our favorites. Bill and I really appreciated they way you customized the trip to provide the best experience possible. We look forward to riding with you again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are looking for exercise, great food, and amazing scenery then this is the holiday for you. My husband and I spent a wonderful week with Laurel, Sonja, Chris and John exploring the Comox to Campbell River area. Laurel makes sure that every detail is taken care of and we felt pampered and spoiled!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had an awesome day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family of four (including two teenagers) had a great day with Laurel and John on a private tour around Campbell River. After speaking with Laurel on the phone the day before to make arrangements, we felt as if she had really listened to what type of tour we were looking for, as the day seemed to be customized just for us and was absolutely perfect. We especially enjoyed John's knowledge of the area and Laurel's treats along the way. Cherry pit spitting in the waterfall and swimming in the river were very fun. We felt really spoiled at the lunch stop when Laurel had ridden ahead and setup a table with real linens and real stoneware, glasses and cutlery for a delicious (and super filling!) lunch on the beach. The service provided to us was excellent and we can't say enough about how pampered we felt. We would have no hesitation in recommending Island Joy Rides to anyone. It was an awesome day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Re-cycling for the Terribly Terrified"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you haven't ridden your bike in 20 years and are terrified at the thought, but at the same time would love to be outside with your friends again, then this is the place to go to get your skills and confidence back. Laurel and John spent 3 hours with my small group of fellow-retirees as we re-learned how the gears work, the new safety signals but most of all how to feel comfortable on the road and in the forest. They quickly figured out what we could and could not do and took it from there . With lots of encouragement and laughter we are now on our way to re-discovering the joys of our youth! Thank you so much Joy Rides! Maggie, Penny and Sue.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 5 days of riding in the Courtenay and Campbell River area. Laurel took great care of us. Our favorite was Rebecca Spit on Quadra Island. Loved the spitting clams.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Joy Rides also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Island Joy Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing