We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent resort, beautiful golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
798 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Excellent resort, beautiful golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Staying even only one night, it is enough to be fascinated by this place.
We got very large and perfectly equipped room on the ground floor in the one of the villas, with the view on the fairways. The place around villas is full of flowers and perfectly maintained
The staff, both in the front desk, restaurant and pro shop, is extremely kind and helpful.
In spite of pretty high fee on the golf course, it`s worth to pay, because its location is wonderful, quality of fairways and greens is impeccable and the rented sets of clubs are really top class.
Also the resort amenities like jacuzzi, or fitness room are on the decent level.
Apart of small snacks we have not used the resort restaurant / steak house / so we can not appraise the quality of meals.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
70
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maple ridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

After reading the reviews we decided to stay at the Crown Isle, and we weren't disappointed! From check in to check out the staff at this resort are top notch! We stayed in a villa with a jacuzzi, on the second floor, over looking the 1st tee. Only one negative, there is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, request a ground floor.

We ate in the pub and the steakhouse, both get top marks for the food and the presentation. The cost wasn't outrageous either. When the server found out it was our anniversary she gave us comp. desserts. How nice!

The golf course wasn't overly busy on Tues. & Wed. Wished we had brought our clubs, it is a beautiful course.
We are definitely planning to return to this resort in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersmapleridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

I travel up island on busniness about four times a year. I always book Crown Isle everytime but once when I decided to try Kingfisher and paid $50 more then Crown Isle and felt like I was staying at a revamped Motel 6 or Quality Inn...oh wait....I think it was.

Crown Isle has beautiful villas surronded by a lovely golf course. Business and fitness center are fine, maybe another computer for business center??

Bed was very comfortabe and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the heat tiles in the foyer and bathroom!!!!

Steakhouse was good and reasonable in the prices :)

Staff are all nice and know the meaning of customer service. Parking is free. I will be back again and again

  • Liked — Great deal for how little you pay :)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank quincytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night here as part of a Vancouver Island golf vacation. We paid $309 for the room and golf for two and got two queen beds, a balcony and kitchenette, plus free parking. The furnishings and amenities were excellent, the staff friendly and efficient and the dining experience at the inn's steakhouse first class. Only negative: the tub/shower is precarious to get into and out of. The golf course is challenging for various skill levels and is kept in superb condition. If you want to buy a home - new or used - they have those too.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — The bathtub/shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I had another opportunity to spend a couple of nights in the Crown Isle Villas, Dorchester Building.
Entering the property should be your first clue; it was gorgeous with the forested and flowered drive up to the clubhouse for check-in.
The desk staff was efficient and attentive and the lobby area was breathtaking and decorated for a wedding that was taking place later that afternoon.
The Dorchester Villa had a choice of two different types of rooms, or open to both rooms if you had a larger group. We decided to stay in the side that had the full kitchen, large bedroom with a king bed, Jacuzzi and lucurious bathroom.
We managed to play a round of golf and were impressed by the golf staff and the course.
If you visit Crown Isle don’t miss taking a tour of the clubhouse and have a meal in the dinning room or the more casual pub style Timber room.
We plan to return on our next anniversary.

  • Liked — The whole property and sleeping accomadations
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea_door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

This is the best resort we have stayed in a long time. Fantastic villas, views and staff. Golfing was great and the course was in excellent shape for winter..We highly recommend this resort whether you golf or not.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank kittykatt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

This was a nice hotel as a first impression but it all goes downhill from there. While I'm sure this hotel is great for golfers and people like that but for an average family, this is defanetely NOT my first choice. Upon arrival, our rooms ended up only having one bed in each room, it took almost 45 minutes to get it straightened out. Following this we found spiders in the fridge, and dead flies in the bathub. The rooms themselves were nice but a bit to overated. The coffee machine was broken, and spilt boiling water on my mother, and burned her. The restaurant was alright although that service was slow, and having placed us at a table directly in the sun, the waitress refused to move us somewhere else or shift our table over a bit. The food was alright, but that the best. Overall this hotel was alright and I"m sure it would be great for someone who loves to golf but it lacked teh HOTEL part amenities like a pool.

  • Liked — There were very nice views out the windows
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Will-travel-far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
5.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Crown Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Crown Isle Resort

Property: The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Address: 399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Crown Isle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Crown Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Crown Isle
Resort At Crown Isle
The Villas At Crown Isle Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing