We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for golfers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great place for golfers”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night here as part of a Vancouver Island golf vacation. We paid $309 for the room and golf for two and got two queen beds, a balcony and kitchenette, plus free parking. The furnishings and amenities were excellent, the staff friendly and efficient and the dining experience at the inn's steakhouse first class. Only negative: the tub/shower is precarious to get into and out of. The golf course is challenging for various skill levels and is kept in superb condition. If you want to buy a home - new or used - they have those too.

  • Liked — Quality of room
  • Disliked — The bathtub/shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
74
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I had another opportunity to spend a couple of nights in the Crown Isle Villas, Dorchester Building.
Entering the property should be your first clue; it was gorgeous with the forested and flowered drive up to the clubhouse for check-in.
The desk staff was efficient and attentive and the lobby area was breathtaking and decorated for a wedding that was taking place later that afternoon.
The Dorchester Villa had a choice of two different types of rooms, or open to both rooms if you had a larger group. We decided to stay in the side that had the full kitchen, large bedroom with a king bed, Jacuzzi and lucurious bathroom.
We managed to play a round of golf and were impressed by the golf staff and the course.
If you visit Crown Isle don’t miss taking a tour of the clubhouse and have a meal in the dinning room or the more casual pub style Timber room.
We plan to return on our next anniversary.

  • Liked — The whole property and sleeping accomadations
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea_door
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This is the best resort we have stayed in a long time. Fantastic villas, views and staff. Golfing was great and the course was in excellent shape for winter..We highly recommend this resort whether you golf or not.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank kittykatt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

This was a nice hotel as a first impression but it all goes downhill from there. While I'm sure this hotel is great for golfers and people like that but for an average family, this is defanetely NOT my first choice. Upon arrival, our rooms ended up only having one bed in each room, it took almost 45 minutes to get it straightened out. Following this we found spiders in the fridge, and dead flies in the bathub. The rooms themselves were nice but a bit to overated. The coffee machine was broken, and spilt boiling water on my mother, and burned her. The restaurant was alright although that service was slow, and having placed us at a table directly in the sun, the waitress refused to move us somewhere else or shift our table over a bit. The food was alright, but that the best. Overall this hotel was alright and I"m sure it would be great for someone who loves to golf but it lacked teh HOTEL part amenities like a pool.

  • Liked — There were very nice views out the windows
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Will-travel-far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2004

I have stayed at Crown Isle a dozen nights over the last 4 months while on business in the Courtenay area. Every stay has been more than just a night at a hotel.
Unfortunately there has been no time to take advantage of the golf facility, but several years ago I played here and the course is one of the best in BC as far as I am concerned.
Golf aside, the facility is above reproach. The restaurant and pub serve great food at a reasonable price and the staff are among the best I have found anywhere. There is a passable fitness center and a clasic car collection in the basement which can be an enjoyable diversion.
The rooms here are the reason to stay. Each is located to provide privacy and comfort. Heavy on the comfort. The beds are probably the most decadent I have ever slept on hotel or otherwise.
The only other place I have stayed in the Courtenay area is The Kingfisher and it is a distant second to Crown Isle.

Helpful?
8 Thank E56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 19, 2003

During the past thirty years we have done plenty of travelling and have stayed in many beautiful resorts around the world. We are very proud to say that we have totally enjoyed numerous stays at a World Class resort right here on Vancouver Island. Crown Isle Resort is truly a real gem!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris/Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2003

I stayed at this resort off and on for about 8 months ( I was working in the area and stayed just about everywhere when availability was not to be had at the Crown Isle). It is by far the nicest hotel in the area (the Kingfisher is the only one that come close). The rooms are almost all large 1 bedroom vacation homes. They are tastfully furnished with about everything you could ever need. The pub is a good place to have a beer and a bite after a day of whatever?? Only negitive is that you have to drive to go into town. But there's not much in town anyway....

Helpful?
10 Thank Jimisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
108.4 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
5.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Crown Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Crown Isle Resort

Property: The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Address: 399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Crown Isle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villas at Crown Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Crown Isle
Resort At Crown Isle
The Villas At Crown Isle Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing