We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sojourn during our recent golf holiday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
352 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic sojourn during our recent golf holiday weekend”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Villas are beautiful, I recommend the One Bedroom Suites with Jacuzzi. We couldn't have asked for better accomodations. The views and smells amongst the big trees is very appealing. Just a great laid back vibe all around the resort.

Room Tip: Recommend the One bedroom suite with Jacuzzi. Folkestone & Edinburgh are both excellent building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
74
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at this resort on a Sunday/Monday night package in a one bedroom with two fireplaces and a Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom. Very romantic! Check in was quick and efficient. Our unit had a kitchen with stove top and micro wave convection oven, dishwasher, fridge etc. Very clean and modern with all the amenities to fix meals (not that we did). A corkscrew was well used. Have been in several resorts where they don't put a corkscrew in the room! I saw a comment about the lack of the Golf Channel on the television in a Golf Resort. It's there. You must go to the Security Cam channel and the Golf Channel will pop up. While we had two televisions in our unit, neither was HD. This wasn't a big issue to us but it may be to some. I suspect the Golf Channel in this area is only supported via the HD channels. The Resort's way around it was to use the HD enabled security channel to acquire the Golf Channel (just a guess on my part).

With beautiful weather, we spent lots of time on our patio and watched the world go by. We used the driving range (ball dispenser) but did not play this course. The golf shop staff were very helpful as were all the staff at this resort.

The main restaurant was closed on the two evenings we stayed here and we knew this as the hours are posted on the resort web site. We used the pub for breakfast both mornings. Good food and attentive service with views of the golf course.

Costco is within walking distance of this resort and if we were in a large group we would have made use of it for food etc. There is a newer mall also within walking distance with groceries (Thriftys..a local chain) and a liquor store. Several fast food outlets are in the in the same area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
794 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A golf resort without The Golf Channel? Otherwise, our downstairs double-queen room seemed perfect. Nice floor plan, attractive furnishings, comfortable furniture, large bathroom, serene setting, quiet room, good mattresses, well-maintained. Room had a nice fridge & freezer, sink, microwave, silverware and dishes. Conveniently located to Costco and a new shopping center. The restaurant was quite good, too. We used the resort as a base for exploring the region. The Spring room rates were very reasonable (only $20/night more than we would have paid at the Holiday Inn Express), and we felt like we pampered here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownResort, Manager at The Villas at Crown Isle Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments about Crown Isle. Our apologies that you were unable to find the Golf Channel on your TV. Because of the cable packaging from Shaw, our Golf Channel has been forced into our TV service on channel 398. As a result, it does not show on the channel guide as the Golf Channel, however, we are in the process of placing notice in all our units that the Golf Channel can be found on #398. Again, we appreciate your positive comments and will try to ensure our guests are aware of where to select the Golf Channel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As part of a break in the Courteney/Comox area, my companion (non golfer) and I (addicted) had scheduled a two night stop at this well known golf resort as my treat to include a round of golf. Our check in, mid afternoon, was conducted most efficiently and so, following the map in our check in material we were able to drive and park at our villa overlooking hole number 1.
The villa suite was an upper level and much more spacious than we had anticipated, comprising a short hall, a full kitchen with four appliances and very well equipped, a dining area and large living room with a double sided gas fireplace and a balcony. There was a large king size bedded bedroom sharing the fireplace which also contained a jacuzzi and there was also an en-suite bathroom with a huge shower. Everything was functional and well maintained. Having unpacked and settled in we walked back to the clubhouse to explore and make arrangements for my round of golf the following morning. The golf staff were helpful and accommodating and added me to a member-guest pairing with a reasonable tee- time at 9.45 am.
By this time we were hungry so we explored the available on site food available. There is a small snack bar, The Sandwedge, beside the proshop suitable for intra-round snacks but we had higher ambitions and went to the area which combines a formal dining room overlooking the 18th green which also connects to a pub style area. Similar food is available in either spot and room service is also available in your villa from 5 to 9 pm. We elected to try the pub and were not disappointed. We had good food well presented with great friendly service at a reasonable price. Still light at this time of year we walked back to our room and after a short watch of TV retired for the night in sublime comfort.
The next morning we prepared our own breakfast after which I went to the club house to pick up a golf cart which I drove back to the villa to pick up my clubs. My companion left to explore the shops after I had loaded my golf clubs etc and I headed for the course to warm up at the very nice practice areas. It had rained quite heavily in the night, but although there was a slight drizzle the forecast was for clearing. Despite this the group I had been assigned to had cancelled so I was assigned to another pairing at 10.15 so I went and had a little extra breafast and coffee before practice. Having hit some balls and practice putts the rain had ceased but when I went to the starter I found my new par had also cancelled. Happily I was paired with a very pleasant husband/wife member pair who were good golfers and off we went and, after the odd raindrop, out came the sun for the remainder of the round. That was the only miracle of the day as my golf was somewhat erratic although I did improve on the back nine. The course is lovely, interesting and well maintained and there are tees for all level of players.
We checked out the following morning well satisfied with the golf resort experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Came back late on our second night. Suite was colder than when we left it but went to bed anyway after covering the glass window between the bedroom and living room, as we had done the first night. Gas fireplace turned itself on in the middle of the night. Almost set fire to a Longchamp suitcase that was in the vicinity. The suitcase smoldered so much that the rooms became filled with acrid smoke, the smoke alarm sounded and fortunately we awoke. We managed to shut the fireplace off, go under the smoke and open all of the windows and doors to air out the smoke, got the suitcase outside and in chock wait for the resort security people and/or fire department to arrive. Smoke cleared but no one came despite the alarm having been full on for at least 20 minutes with the wide open doors and windows at about 05:30 in the morning. Spoke to the resort manager, Ron Waugh, the morning after. He also thought it strange that there had been no security response in the night but admitted that the cleaners have been instructed to turn down the suite temperature during the guest's absence. This was the reason for the start of the gas fire. This was recanted the following day. He delayed answering as long as possible and finally refused any responsibility while saying that there was only 1 "security person" on duty and he could not be expected to react. How are we to know that the fireplace is an intrinsic part of the heating system? Even more dangerous, the sheets on the bed became hot when the fireplace was on and Waugh refused to acknowledge this. In all fairness, they did deduct half of the replacement value of the suitcase from our final bill. No additional compensation or apology was offered. The only reasons we stayed on, with very nervous sleep, were that the resort is 5 minutes from our visit and they shut off the gas to the suite from a central so that there was not even a pilot light burning. As luck would have it we are not plagued with lung problems so we could handle the situation but: What if!?!? This place is going to have a much more serious incident due to egregious negligence of the hotel management. It would not surprise us if people were to die because of this. There is no security at Crown Isle so do stay away from the accommodations. If anyone is interested I can supply you with the email conversation between the resort and me.

Room Tip: Do not stay there. Just use the golf course and perhaps the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My mother's 90th birthday party was approaching fast and we were looking for a venue where out of town guests could stay and they had a catering service for a sit down dinner. My wife and I visited several resorts on Vancouver Island and just weren't satisfied with what they had to offer, so we met with the staff at Crown Isle Golf Resort and explained what we were looking for. They presented a great package which included accommodation and dinner. The party was a huge hit, the buffet style dinner and appetizers were exceptional all for a price that was well withing the range of what we had hoped. The guests were from all around North America and agreed that the condo/townhouse rental accommodation was some of the best they had ever stayed at. None of us are golfers but the condos all over look the beautiful golf course which made you feel like you are overlooking a beautifully manicured park. As a place for a family get together it could not have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am currently staying at the Villas at Crown Isle again with my husband and son. The suites are so spacious with amazing views of the golf course. Very clean, all the amenities are provided, and the jacuzzi tub is great. We can cook breakfast and lunch in our suite, and then walk up to the clubhouse for dinner in the Timber Room.
This has been yet another great visit to Crown Isle. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite close to the clubhouse to avoid too long of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
782 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
5.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
27.4 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Crown Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Crown Isle Resort

Property: The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Address: 399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Crown Isle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Villas at Crown Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Crown Isle
Resort At Crown Isle
The Villas At Crown Isle Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing