We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for my cousin's wedding. We were in a king jacuzzi suite which was huge. There was a lot of room for our family of 4 in the bedroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable, but we had a reduced rate since we were staying for the wedding. I assume it would be quite expensive at the high season rate.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

We once again stayed in the Villas at Crown Isle as part of a business/pleasure trip. We weren't able to golf but viewed the action from our balcony and we were impressed again at the pace of play. It's a beautiful course. Our villa was very nice and the service again was very attentive and professional. However, this time I must say that the food fell flat. One night we dined in the Silverado Dining Room which is a little more high-end than the Timber Room. We found the entrees to be quite bland. For instance, the arctic char was cooked properly but it didn't have much flavour. Furthermore, the sides that are provided for the entrees (at least for the fish) are just kind of weird and not complementary. One of the sides recommended for the fish was a ginger risotto cheese cake. It just didn't go with the fish IMHO. We also ate in the Timber Room and while some of the starters were okay, once again the mains left much to be desired. I had the mushroom ravioli and it tasted like it has been store-bought. Likewise for the sauce. (The lobster ravioli in the Silverado was pretty good though). The halibut was also pretty bland although technically well cooked. It didn't even have a slice of lemon and the wild rice was undercooked. So, while we would likely stay at Crown Isle again, I will not eat there as often and will not buy the dining package.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My wife and I visited the Restaurant on Thanksgiving Day,They removed their daily menu,so the only option was a Turkey dinner,which was fair to good,depending if you liked turkey or not,I was greatly disappointed in when receiving the bill,i paid with a $100.00 gift voucher,when i received the balance of the gift voucher,i was short $10.04,On the way out,i asked our waiter,what happened?he stated he took that amount as his gratuity,I told him,i did not appreciate that.I emailed Crown Isle twice,have not had a satisfactory answer from the management yet.WE will not be returning to Crown Isle,Check your bill

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comoxtravellwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownIsle, Director of Sales at The Villas at Crown Isle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs comoxtravellwer ,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your expierence with the Silverado West Coast Grill for your Thanksgiving Day dinner. For special occassions we have and do remove the daily menu, and create a Unique Menu to showcase the season or holiday. We will review the comments from the holiday season to see if in the future we should introduce a limited menu with some of our most popular dishes.

We do apologize for the waiter taking his gratuity from the change that was due to you - it is not our policy for this to happen. We have posted a kindly reminder with our policy to all our food and beverage staff so that this should not happen again.

I apologize on behalf the hotel for not responding to any of your emails or requests - and I apologize for being tardy in my response to your experience. I do understand that at time of writing this that we have spoken directly with you and the matter has been handled.

We strive for a high quality of service in all areas of Crown Isle Resort and I hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance to WOW you with our Resort.

Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

You don’t have to be a golfer to appreciate the fine accommodations at Crown Isle Resort. In September 2010 most of the FORTified dragonboat team stayed here during the BC Senior Games. For us, having a two bedroom, one bathroom suite allowed for space to gather and nighttime privacy. The bedrooms are small giving more space for livingroom and small kitchenette (microwave, fridge, sink, kettle, dishes, cutlery). The bathroom offered both a deep tub and a shower. There is also a pull out sofa should your needs require. The spacious balcony look out onto the golf course and we appreciated the quiet sea-mist mornings. We ate at the Timber Room Pub and found the food delicious, well priced and the service friendly and considerate. All in all it was a quite perfect stay and there is no hesitation in recommending. (Oh, both our women’s and mixed teams won gold!)

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Right from our check-in to our check-out, everything exceeded our expectations. The service was outstanding, the accomodations were beautiful and the golf was wonderful. We really liked the star-light ceiling above the jacuzzi in the master bedroom. The staff was wonderful in every area. We really appreciated the pace of the golf course. We never felt rushed or delayed. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were in the area for a wedding in early July. The villa was large and clean. The sofa bed folded up on my mother in the night and so the hotel gave her a cot for the remaining 2 nights. It was very uncomfortable and we were not offered any other option. The tap in the kitchen leaked when turned on. There is no air conditioning. Smoking was permitted on the balconies and because of the heat we had all the windows open and therefor all the cigarette smoke came into our room. I called the front desk and they said that smoking was not permitted but i noticed that all the balconies had ashtrays. This puzzled me. For the above reason I would be extremely cautious about staying here again as I am a non-smoker and was really turned off by cigarette smoke drifting into my bedroom from 7 am until late into the night each day. The food was really good and I would definately dine here again. I might possibly stay during the winter as the windows and air conditioning would not be a factor but only as a last resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have stayed at Crown Isle on several occasions and have reccommended the resort to friends from the mainland, and they have not been disappointed.
The resort offers a unique room style that is a perfect fit for us. The front desk were terrific, " thank you Natasha", even calling to ask if everything was in order shortly after checking in.
We will continue to frequent this excellent resort every anniversary and in between too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,052 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
39.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
41.9 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Crown Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Crown Isle Resort

Address: 399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: $105 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Crown Isle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villas at Crown Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Crown Isle
Resort At Crown Isle
The Villas At Crown Isle Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing