We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and a great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and a great restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A little pricey considering some updating needed. (old style TVs, bathroom door hardware from the '70s.). The beds were very comfortable and the restaurant had an excellent menu.
Staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantravellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer
We are constantly fine tuning our menu and restaurant experience so we were happy to hear you enjoyed it!
We also are working on our rooms and if you come again ask for the new wing. You will be very impressed. The rooms as well as our restaurant are being constantly worked on to meet everyone's expectations.
Thanks for your review and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    218
    105
    36
    16
See reviews for
155
182
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice location. Caring staff. Has restaurant attached. Within a block is a wonderfully good restaurant for dinner called "Locals". One of the best meals of our 12 day stay in Canada. Don't miss this great place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Bill
One of our greatest assets is our staff so when we get reviews complimenting them we are thrilled!!
There are so many great restaurants in the area including our own Flying Canoe.
Please come again and take advantage of the beautiful area we live in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pretty standard travellers' hotel. Not much to rave or complain about. But if you eat in the Chalk dining room, try to sit in Alex's section. Competent, cheerful and refreshingly honest. She was a delight.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Patricia
Thank you so much for your review. Please visit us again so we can impress you as much as Alex did!
We strive to do our best in all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Comfy beds, decent sized room. Nice to have a balcony! Bathrooms are older style, with low toilets and the hair dryer is not built in. It hangs behind the door on a coat-hook but at least it's there. Halls are a bit maze like, probably due to additions being made.There are 3 buildings, two of which are connected by a third floor sky-walk. If you go to the Canoe Cove pub to use your $5 pp food voucher, bring a book. Very slow service, and appeared to be understaffed. We watched a pizza sit on the counter for 15 minutes before being delivered to a table 20 feet away. Waited more than an hour for our meals, one of which was cold on delivery. Beer was warm! There is also a family restaurant on site and a club with billiards where you can use your food vouchers. Friendly staff, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrel72vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Molly
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We also think we have the best staff and a great product!
It was unfortunate that the service was slow on the night of your visit.
We look forward to serving you even better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it is an all-around decent hotel. You can tell some parts are older and have had updating. We stayed in the back building which I believe is older. The room was clean and comfortable; the beds were actually very comfortable. The huge downside is that the walls & floors appear to be paper thin and being on the second floor well felt like we had elephants above us!!! I realized it is not the hotels fault that the people above us were so noisy but we had an awful sleep due their thumping, walking, banging around, etc. If you stay here, do yourself a favor and request the top floor! Also, our kids enjoyed the pool; but the hot tub is in desperate need of a thorough scrubbing as it was filthy and you could see (and feel, yuck!) a disgusting, dirty line at the water mark. We used our $5 food vouchers to put towards breakfast in the morning, which was very nice.

Room Tip: Request top floor for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you so much for taking the time to make your comments on Trip Advisor. We value our customers and want to improve on all aspects of our operation.
We definitely will rectify any areas that we can. Thank you for the heads up on the hot tub. So happy to hear the kids enjoyed the pool.
We do try and manage the noise complaints to the best of our ability. We would appreciate a call to the front desk at the time of disruption so we can rectify the situation at hand.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was December. Very cold outside. We couldn't understand why the floor was so cold in our room. We found out at check out, that the floor below us was under construction, so no heat was on below. We wondered why we were not put in a different room. We were there 4 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Helen
Thank you so much for choosing The Westerly for your four day stay. We were undergoing renovations during your stay. We are so sorry that it affected your flour temperatures!
Please do not hesitate to notify our team if you encounter any discomfort next time you stay
with us and we will do our best to rectify the situation in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in older section. Old rooms and smelt of smoke. Had to get room change but new room was not much better. Breakfast was okay but charged way too much for omelet. Will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Matthew M.
I wish to apologize for your recent experience at the hotel. We do take your suggestions seriously and we will internally discuss solutions to this problem. Our staff take our customer requests personally to ensure that your needs are met and we can match and exceed your expectations consistently. There is always a possibility that something may come up short and for that we sincerely apologize and we would appreciate the opportunity to make it a priority for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
782 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
388 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Property: Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing