We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff were great at this hotel. After a quick and easy check in we went up to our room and were disappointed that it looked out to other rooms. I went back to the front desk and asked if we could get a room looking across the bridge and within minutes we had what we asked for. The hotel was in a great location for visiting with our friends in Comox as well as touring the area. The rooms were a good size and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was more elaborate than most hotels. We had dinner in the dining room on our last night with friends and it wasn't the greatest. The food was overcooked for most of us. One of the main reasons I picked this hotel was because it had a pool. Unfortunately when we did get a chance to use it on our last day it was closed for painting. Next time I'll check before I book to see what kind of maintenance is being done during our stay. Overall I would return as it was a good value and it worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    210
    101
    36
    16
See reviews for
153
169
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed one night to attend the Comox Valley Highland Games. The rooms were clean and all the furniture was new and in good shape. The bathroom was very nice (awesome rainfall showerhead). The beds and pillows were comfortable, wonderful hot buffet breakfast, in a room with floor to ceiling windows, which is perfect for the morning sun. The staff were great to work with, the group booking was very smooth and communication was excellent. Excellent value for our money - already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have just returned from a three day stay at his hotel. The staff at this hotel were amazing they bent over backwards making sure our Conference ran smoothly and if there were any glitches they attended to us immediately. I will be returning and staying there again for sure as I would love to explore more of this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room that way you will be sure to have a fridge. The only down side we had was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tehya159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Duty Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest, I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff.
We appreciate the positive comments that we receive from guests and share these with our team who deserve a pat on the back for a job well done! We pride ourselves in helping make our guest’s experience a positive one and to consistently anticipate their needs, because it is the little things that make the difference.
Thank-you again for the taking the time and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Westerly Hotel in the future! If I can be of any assistance during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Linda Bigelow, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night only and whilst we didnt try all the facilities we really enjoyed our stay which started with a nice free room upgrade. The oops were large, clean and modern. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast wasn't amazing but it was free so I can't complain.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D R, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at the Westerly Hotel.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

I am glad to see that you were extremely satisfied with your overall experience at the Westerly Hotel and that you would return in the future, and also recommend us to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre, and if there is anything at all we can assist with, please feel free to contact me directly.

David Rooper, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

All the staff I encountered while staying at the Westerly were extremely helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. The only things I didn't like were that there was only a tiny dresser in the room and the television kept cutting out. My daughter really liked the fact that the hotel had a games room, which was a nice surprise. All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offwegoagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D R, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with valuable feedback after your stay. Our guest comments are used as a tool to determine areas in which the Hotel can improve.

I am glad to see that you were very satisfied with your overall experience at the Westerly Hotel & Convention Centre and that you would return in the future, and also recommend us to your family and friends.

I have communicated your positive comments regarding your experience onto the team.

We appreciate the positive comments that we receive from guests and share these with our associates who deserve a pat on the back for a job well done! We pride ourselves in helping make our guest’s experience a positive one and to consistently anticipate their needs, because it is the little things that make the difference.

Thank-you again for the taking the time to provide us with feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Westerly Hotel in the future! If I can be of any assistance during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact me.

David Rooper, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have stayed here twice for meetings that I have arranged and the rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. The meeting facilities were different each time but perfect for the requirements we had for our events. They served us well and the food was great. We will definitely be back for future events. The free breakfast was awesome too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottomowbeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We'd highly recommend this hotel for a winter ski break, it's just thirty minutes from Mt Washington. They do good value ski packages which include passes, breakfast, and even a bus to the slopes. The hotel has a compact, but decent, pool and sauna so you can ease those aching limbs on your return. It also has a gym, but we didn't want to risk getting too fit! We used the hotels River City Cafe for dinner, which was really good. The food was freshly prepared, reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Other eateries are available, all looked good. So, if you're looking for somewhere to stay while you're on a ski trip, look no further, you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookathat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Property: Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing