We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Having never visited Courtenay, I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of this city. Our first contact was with a very cheerful and professional check-in person at the Best Western Courtenay Hotel.
The purpose of our trip was to golf, but when we were not golfing, we spent all of our time in the hotel. After our golf games, we loosened up in the hot tub and sauna. Then we went o the Snookers Lounge for a cocktail and to play a game or two of pool. we decided to have dinner in the Lounge and watch some of the hockey game.
Our waitress was great and she told us, we had to go over to the Pub to see a local band that had a karaoke component. Nothing short of pure entertainment.
The rooms were a fair size, very clean and they have 'heavenly beds'.
Overall, we had a great stay at this property.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Screamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    218
    105
    36
    16
See reviews for
155
182
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We had our wedding at the Westerly and the wedding party stayed at the hotel. It was the worst hotel experience we've ever had. Thankfully we were able to not let the experience with the hotel and it's staff ruin our wedding however we feel the need to warn other engaged couples or travellers alike.
Our experience included:

When moving from our one bedroom suite to the Honeymoon Suite on my wedding day the staff offered no help.
A staff member being so rude (could be considered bullying, I'm not kidding) my 6 year old boy.
Banquets manager being incredibly patronizing and condescending.
Wedding Dinner Buffet being cleared while guests were still
eating.
Dessert being removed before we even announced it was there.
Staff removing unfinished wine glasses while guests were
dancing
Staff not manning the cash bar (I had to go into the back and
ask them to come out)
No tea or coffee served as per contract

We weren't the only unhappy people. Every single one of our guests that stayed at the hotel has their own complaints.

So far the hotel is unwilling to seriously address our situation and so far Best Western Head office hasn't been any better yet.

Don't think that because this hotel has the Best Western brand that you'll get the quality and service that you've received at other Best Western hotels.

  • Liked — close to other extended family
  • Disliked — staff/service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SeanDVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D R, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment regarding your wedding at the Westerly Hotel.

As the new General Manager, I wanted to assure you that feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience. This is not the normal course of business at the Westerly, and this feedback has allowed us to improve both our service delivery and product.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in some way in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your wedding.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

David Rooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

Consider the following if you intend to stay here:

1. Rooms on the South-East side of the hotel receive a lot of noise from the 17th street bridge -- the bridge has a grated surface and when cars drive over it they make a loud grumbling sound that can be heard quite loudly in rooms on this side, and the17th street is very busy. You probably won't get to sleep until well after 11:00 PM. If you are getting a Military or DND rate you most likely will be put into one of these less acceptable rooms. If you want to get a better room you won't get the DND rate -- something to consider if you are on your house hunting trip!

2. The hotel is of wood-frame construction which transmits noise from other rooms -- slamming doors, pounding feet on the floor etc. I recommend you get a room on the top floor to minimize noise disruption.

3. I found this hotel to have a foul odor in the halls and stairwells, probably due to mould.

Rooms are dated in their decor. A complete shock considering how awesome the lobby is!!!

Location is good, as you can walk to downtown.

Overall this place is survivable. If you are deaf and have a bad sense of smell this place only gets better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 5a25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Centrally located in the Courtenay area, and no trouble with parking at all, there is plenty.

Building looks like it's been there a while. I'd rate this room as "average and okay" but not woo hoo fantastic. Good if you're just looking for a place to lay your head and get up and go the next day, but not if you are looking for anything romantic or above average.

There are a couple of restaurants/pub areas within the hotel. One is a 'rock n roll' style pub with live bands (small stage area in corner of room). There's another nice bar with really great cushy chairs. This one is superior for sure.. great atmosphere in there. (see pics)
There are also a couple of pool tables off to the side in another corner away from the main sitting area.

Bed: we had a single queen. The matress was not as hard as some hotels, but still harder than I prefer. I would give the bed a 7 out of 10.

Room: Good size, had small love seat and coffee table, desk, and 2 chairs to sit in. TV was about 27 inch, cable included, and I think you could order in room movies (we never do). Doors that open to personal balcony outside of room, but we didn't go out as it was a little too cold for that in January.

Internet: they have free wireless internet if you provide your own computer in room. They will give you the password for the wireless at the desk.

Bathroom: Because I'm a woman my mission is to report all the bathroom info possible for the other women looking for a great bathtub experience. Bathroom counter had coffee maker with cups in corner, and they didn't provide us with enough coffee whitener for the amount of cups and coffee. (not really an issue)

They provided decent soaps and shower gel - not that old horrible kind that makes your skin scream when you use it. (NICE!! feature) Small compact sized hair dryer on back of door for guest use.

Tub: Average joe tub you'd have at most homes. No frills there. Water pressure was low-medium in the shower ( I didn't bother doing the bath because it was ho hum). There was a shelf in the corner where you could put your shower items on and it felt a little slimy so it scared me, but otherwise the bathroom was pretty clean, no complaints.

2 bathrobes were provided in closet next to bathroom and plenty of towels.

Summary: Good room, good service.. not a lot of hotels in the area so I'd say this one is a good choice if you didn't have time to look around a lot.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Angiecat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2005

We stayed for one night and got a great deal with our Entertainment Card. The front desk staff questioned the quoted rate but gave it to us without much trouble. They were very helpful later when we needed to make some last minute flight changes and did not charge us for the faxes from WestJet. The room was spacious and clean with all sorts of nice extras including bath robes to use while we were there. The pool was nice but the whirlpool was way too hot. We would stay here again if we were in Courtenay

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2004

My group was assured via two separate phone calls that there was wireless Internet available in the hotel. We were not told it was only available in the lobby area and from a supplier that charged by the hook up to your credit card. Since only Telus supplies dial up on the island the entire situation was archaic to say the least. This is unacceptable to today’s business traveller. Rooms were nice and well laid out, nice restaurant and lounge. Sports bar and liquor outlet was attached. The staff were all very young and keen to be accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coldcanukwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris/Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2003

I stayed here a couple of times in the past year. It's OK but no match for the Crown Isle (or the Kingfisher). The rooms are small and some can be noisy if you are near the bridge. The food is OK at the restaurants, but not worth it when some really good food is a few minutes away (try the Mexican Place, Thai place and the new Sushi place, anyone in town can direct you since there is only one of each).
If your in town for a quick trip, the Coast is OK, otherwise go to the Crown Isle or Kingfisher.

Helpful?
7 Thank Jimisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
782 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
388 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Property: Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing