We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Retreat.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I have been going to kingfisher once a year, we just returned from our 13th visit.
We stay in an orca suit on the water front, the view has always been amazing with eagles, dolphins and this year we even had a dear by our patio.It has never disappointed us, the spa is amazing the staff friendly and service providers are very professional. The restaurant is quite good however I would like to see a bit more variety as with staying for 4 nights you don't always want a gourmet meal.
kyla the Manager I believe is absolutely wonderful, she is friendly and goes over and beyond her title I am sure, she will try and accommodate any request. Everyone should try this place just once and you wont be disappointed. It can be pricey you just have to look for a special.

Room Tip: orca suites on the beachfront are the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mams82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Greetings from the Island!

Thank you mams82 for your amazing review of your 13th visit with us!! We are delighted you had another wonderful retreat this year. I have shared your review with our Chef and we hope we can WOW you again next year. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we all look forward to next year! Crab cakes and your favourite beach chairs await you:)

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    326
    126
    52
    34
See reviews for
165
480
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here due to a great discount we got through on online booking website. We had no real interest in the Spa side of things so I can only really speak to the room itself.

We stayed in the rooms closest to the entrance, I'm not sure how the resort refers to them. The room was very clean and we were told that it was recently renovated. There was wifi available in the room and it appeared each room had it's out router which may be good to know for the traveller who demands a good signal. We had a decent view even from our room and the setting was peacefull. The main drawback to the room was the lack of screens on windows and/or the sliding door. There did not appear to be nay air conditioning so in order to cool down you had to risk the bugs. There were some minor annoyances such as no plugs near the bedside table; however, nothing major.

The staff was nice and super friendly. Overall it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room has screens on the windows or doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Artchur,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your review with our team and we are looking at implementing some of your suggestions so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are thrilled that you thought all of our staff were super friendly and overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that you will come back and enjoy another stay at our Resort.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed there a couple weeks ago in a beachfront suite. Here's what I'll say:
The view is great. The room was just ok, the food was just ok, and everything was generally underwhelming, especially for the price. Had I paid a lot less, I would have been thrilled, but for what our stay cost us, I don't think it's great value. For the money you'll spend, there are better places to sgtay.

The Hydropath is AMAZING. It's worth the trip.
Except for this...
We paid well over $800 for our weekend, and 50 each to go into the Hydropath. As we were entering, some people showed up and were told they were having a 2 for 1 special that day. They received the 2 for 1 special. We asked for the special, and were told that we could not have it.
.... So, you're telling me that people who show up at the last second get a 2 for 1 deal, but the people who booked in advance and paid nearly a grand to stay at your hotel on a weekend away have to pay full price? Heck no.

We complained on the way out and were told it's "kind of like a seat sale for airlines".
Actually it's not, and we won't be back. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront. The rest of it looks like a Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Rob P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your last visit was. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience. If you could contact me either by phone or email, our toll free number 1-800-663-7929 or by email kyla@kingfisherspa.com. I am concerned by all of this and would like the opportunity to rectify your displeasure.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a low,off season rate. And couldn't have been happier with this choice. We love nature and spent a lot of time on the beach among the many niches with chairs to enjoy the Salish Sea view! It was so exciting to discover that it was a big Bald Eagle habitat because of the mud beds after high tide, that provided abundant sea treats for tens of bald eagles and their babies who had set up their homes on the tops of the massive firs on this coastline. We also experienced a pod of porpoises on our last morning. All rooms have an oceanview and ours was one of the older suites that had yet to be updated, as the resort was updating the suites. We found ours just fine! Wonderful beds were warm and just right firmness with great pillows! A mini kitchenette with a mini-fridge, stovetop,microwave, coffee maker and toaster was something we took advantage of. We shopped in nearby Courtney for groceries. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once, had the seared tuna and Caesar salad, which was excellent, but pricey. Overall a fabulous experience and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Samlaz,

What a great review of your recent stay with us! Thank you, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Resort. The eagles are such a treat and we all enjoy watching them teach their young ones to fish. How lucky were you to see a pod of porpoises! I still have not seen that in a few years. Thank you for your feedback of your room, we are currently upgrading a few things around our property so it is nice to hear about your stay and that you were comfortable. We are pleased to know that you had a fabulous time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Kingfisher more than once and have loved it every time. The spa is beautiful and the hydra path experience is A1. The food is absolutely delicious, from the eggs Benedict in the morning to the lamb with chimichurri sauce for dinner. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and the Orca suites (featuring a fireplace, sitting area, kitchenette and walk-out just steps from the ocean) are absolutely superb. Can't wait to go back again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for your review of your last stay with us! We are delighted that you had an amazing time. I agree the Eggs Benedict is the best and my personal favourite breakfast. The Orca suites are gorgeous and with the ocean just steps away it truly is a beachfront suite. We have shared your review with our team and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, we really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had the most wonderful time at the Kingfisher. Their spa is incredible. The Hydotherapy Tx was unique and relaxing. I would do it again in a heartbeat. The room was comfortable with an ocean view. The resteraunt was marvelous. I can't say enough about the place. We only left the property once while we were there. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Erika D,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time, from your incredible Spa experience to a marvelous dinner as well!! Thank you for your kind review as we have shared it with our team and they can't wait until your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of your visit with us!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A friend & I stayed at the Kingfisher in January, 2012 in an oceanview room & really enjoyed it. Fast forward two years, we returned, in spring this time & brought two friends & stayed in an upper Denman suite. Although fabulous in the winter, coming in the spring was so good for the soul, seeing (& smelling) all the flowers & trees in bloom & being able to sleep with the balcony door open & hear the seals barking in the early morning. (Especially coming from Calgary where nothing is blooming yet!).

Shuttle - We flew in to Comox & the shuttle was waiting for us. We had requested a stop at the liquor store & they noted that on our file & Norm, the driver, was aware of the request & took us to a store close to the resort. What an enjoyable drive, both when we arrived & departed! Norm shared history of the area & drove the scenic route. So nice having the shuttle & not having to worry about a cab or renting a car.

Accommodation - we stayed in the upper Denman suite, it had 2 beds, a Murphy bed & pull out couch, so we could each have our own beds. There were two bathrooms (nice with 4 females!). There were two connecting balconies, two fireplaces (didn't use them), two tv's (never turned on!) & a kitchenette. Although there was nothing wrong with the oceanview room we stayed in last time, it truly is worth the extra $$ to stay in a room right on the ocean's edge.

Breakwater Restaurant - every meal we had there was fabulous. There is lots of seafood on the menu, which I took full advantage of. Would highly recommend the seafood pasta, clam chowder & the crab Bennie (breakfast). Had an awesome server, Shelby, at lunch & dinner...hopefully we didn't drive her crazy! We were able to have a couple meals outside...what a treat!

Spa treatments - oh....where to begin? All four of us were so happy with everything we picked. Everyone working in the spa is so friendly & helpful. I had the Pacific Mermaid with Sherry....I had Sherry last time for this & requested her again....that was my favorite treatment. I also had a hot stone massage with Kate & a Grand Pacific pedicure with Chelsey...both of these were fantastic as well. The Hydropath was included in our package & we did that as well. We all left feeling very pampered & soft!!

Check in/check out - front desk staff are very friendly & efficient.

This has nothing to do with the resort, but we had an interesting thing happen while we were there. We were sitting outside having lunch on our first day & a man approached us & asked if we could be witnesses for him & his bride's wedding as it was just the two of them & the JP. We were honored to oblige & witnessed the wedding & then signed the registry for them (after giving them both big hugs!). We will be in their wedding photos...no makeup & yoga pants, just after a massage...attractive!!! For the rest of the weekend we referred to them as "our newlyweds"! :). If they are reading this review I wish them all the best in their new life together!

I would highly recommend Kingfisher & we're already talking about next time!

Room Tip: Would recommend one of the rooms right on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamesfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Flamesfan1959,

Wow what an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your last stay with us! We LOVE Norm, he is an amazing ambassador for our Resort and a great way to start your stay! We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, from the stunning Denman suite to the Restaurant and of course the Spa. Then to top it off with being asked to stand in for a surprise wedding, what a memory making experience!! We have shared your review with our team and we all remembered that impromptu wedding and the look on your faces. We would love a copy of that photo to send to you!! Thank you again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back here, hopefully Calgary is getting some summer weather. Enjoy your summer and remember we are here anytime you want to escape to Beautiful Vancouver Island!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
779 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing