We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I were engaged at the restaurant overlooking the ocean at the Kingfisher resort. I was aware of the spa as I had visited previous for a pedicure and while it was enjoyable I found it to be overpriced.
For christmas I was given a gift certificate to the Pacific Mist Hydropath. During the month of December they had a deal where, if you visited the spa during weekdays, the hydropath was buy one get one free. My husband and I decided to take advantage.
We were only able to get an appointment early in the morning so we arrived at 8:30 AM so we could use the hottub and pool beforehand.
The spa experience itself was quite nice. Basically you start out in the lounge and then you're shifted from station to station by a spa tech. You start out in a hottub that has a number of different jet settings to massage different parts of your back. You continue through the stations (glacier waterfall, a number of different kinds of waterfalls, a salt bath soak, a steam room, etc and eventually end up in your own little tub with this really nice sea salt scrub. Throughout the spa tech ensures you have a nice cool cloth to put on your face and she tops up your water glasses. The total time I would suggest devoting to the whole thing is 2 hours. Its very relaxing, if you can plan to do nothing afterwards I suggest you do!

Tips:
-Go pee immediately before heading into the lounge area.
-Dont go in if you are hungover, pregnant or have high blood pressure or claustrophobia. The hydropath area is closed in and the varying temperatures may trigger the above noted ailments!
- Drink the water provided- it keeps you hydrated!
- Get the eucalyptus in the steam cave- very nice.
- ensure that if you are taking advantage of any of the deals offered at the spa you mention it to them at the time of booking AND when you go to check out/pay otherwise they not acknowledge the "deal" and will try and charge you accordingly. They did this to me but I mentioned to the lady that we were told it was a two for one deal and she adjusted it accordingly.
- Remember to leave a tip when the service is good!

Room Tip: We did not spend the night here, we just used the spa services during this visit but we have dined a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your review Canshy! We are thrilled that you took advantage of our Pacific Mist Hydropath special and enjoyed the healing benefits that service offers, we love that you have memories here with your husband. Our amazing property is a couples destination as we have breathtaking views and unparalleled guest service. We all look forward to welcoming you both back again and again!

Warmest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed excellent Spa treatments, an amazing and superb seafood buffet, cheerful, friendly and professional service and a very comfortable room on the water's edge. (Also some great entertainment from Phil Dwyer.) Beats its Parksville competition hands down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Happy New Year to you StevePF! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us over New Year's. Fantastic news that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our unparalleled guest service! The Seafood buffet was a big hit as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

All the best,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

For $160 a night, and "Resort & Spa" in the title, I expected a lot more than a grubby, motel style dump, with NO amenities.
Silverfish in the tub when we got there, and per the attached picture, a rusted out piece of junk in the tub, with some foreign method of turning the shower on that requires you to fiddle with the nozzle - really; as if, after the bug and the rust, I'm going to jiggle the disgusting nozzle to take a shower? I think not.
The Spa Cave is filthy, that's why they keep it dark in there, you can SEE the slime build up in the hot tubs. The spa needs to be thoroughly cleaned, just as a start. They ran out of hot water and the whole place looks like it's going to fall down in a stiff wind.
The people who work there are nice and friendly, and that is the ONLY thing this place has going for it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Beautiful room, excellent service. It's a short drive from Courtney and just a bit off the main road which gives it a feeling of being secluded. Lovely grounds - well cared for flowers.

We had a kitchenette room which was well appointed. The bathroom with double head showers and heated floors was heavenly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettiR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you BettiR2013 for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed there two nights, December 17-19, 2013, room 209. The room was very clean with a nice view, comfortable beds. People from the front desk were polite and helpful. Wi-Fi could be better. Nice pool and sauna. The spa was very unique. The old fashion TV could be replaced for something newer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyAlexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your review JennyAlexG! We appreciate your review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to update the TV's in 2014 and we are upgrading our WiFi as well, so thank you again for sharing your experience and your suggestions did not go unnoticed! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Happy Holidays

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Overall very pleasant experience. Rooms a bit dated, but good value for price. Excellent service, especially front desk. Food was very good, a bit pricey, but good quality and nice atmosphere. Pool and hot tub were very nice to sit outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpjohn39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review jpjohn39 ! We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and experienced our amazing guest service team at the front desk. The entire resort offers unparalleled guest service as we are all trained in World Host hospitality so it is nice to hear feedback from our guests and I was happy to share your review with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Happy Holidays from the Kingfisher Resort!

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have been to the Kingfisher numerous times and on many different occasions. We had a family photo shoot there once, many birthday celebrations, a Christmas party or two, and yesterday for a nice little lunch and pedicure. The Kingfisher team / staff are very accommodating ! I am always very pleased with the service and the quality. Thank you to the Kingfisher restaurant for an awesome lunch yesterday and thank you to Alesia at the spa- my pedicure was so relaxing and my toes look beautiful!

Room Tip: I did not stay at the resort this trip but when I stayed before we were very close to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comoxgardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Comoxgardengirl ! We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. Our staff strive to exceed our guests expectations and offer unparalleled service everyday so it is nice to hear your feedback and we will share your review with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy Holidays
The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,052 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,353 reviews
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
5.8 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: $128 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing