We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We met a friend here for lunch and what a delight!! Excellent food. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff and a beautiful view. The waitress was attentive and knew about the menu items and also was able to recommend an excellent local wine--Pinot Gris from Beaufort wineries. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    326
    126
    52
    34
See reviews for
165
480
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited our son and daughter in law and her family in Victoria, BC, arriving in Vancouver Island on 26th December, 2012. After the hustle and bustle of Christmas at home and then having been brought 'down' by the dreaded bug that had been swooping through North America, we thought a short break with a day of skiing at Mt Washington would be the thing to do. We didn't want to spend the whole time on the slopes so dear Son and D-I-L suggested we stay at this Hotel in Courtenay and maybe luxuriate with a Spa and all the trimmings. It was a delightful short stay and even in winter, or perhaps because it was winter, the Hotel was busy - the Spa and the treatments were well known! At least that is what must have been the case because we couldn't get a booking - other than a great, exhilarating swim in the heated pool... it was that busy. We didn't mind too much. The pool was magical after a day on the slopes.
If you want a great meal, terrific service, book into their onsite Restaurant - you won't be sorry!
The room we had was a family room (because our young grandson came along on this trip with us) - roomy, well furnished, clean, very comfortable and warm - on the ground floor, right on the beach, so our view was of a typical West Coast scene.There were birds, ducks and of course the lapping waves to enjoy from the sliding french doors and that in itself was peaceful and charming. It was refreshing and helped us all get over the last vestiges of having been ill. I appreciated their bath gel, body lotion and shampoo... nothing overwhelming or nauseatingly sweet!
The Reception was manned by friendly young people, ready to assist and good at what they did.
What more could anyone want?

Room Tip: 1. As mentioned, we didn't get to experience their Spa services but given the popularity I expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review SaGrandma. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us. Our location is stunning and our amazing staff are by far our best asset. We are sorry to hear you were not able to receive a Spa treatment during your stay. We were very busy over the holidays and continue to be on weekends. We hope you are able to join us again very soon and enjoy all of our wonderful facilities. I always like to recommend booking mid week for extra special deals and available Spa treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been to Kingfisher several times in the past but not for a couple of years. The spa and restaurant is fabulous. Staff are great and the food is amazing. Had a great facial by Dee who was great. The Hydropath is always nice. My only not so great comment is that the Oceanview room and the relaxation areas in the spa need updating. The carpets are worn, the furniture is looking tired and worn. Hasn't changed since I first went over 10 years ago. Regardless, this is a fantastic place to R&R

Room Tip: As above, the Oceanview rooms have a great view but need updating. It's really quiet there - ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust072559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not pretentious, but welcoming and comfortable - I love this place. We have been visiting for years and it still tops my list of favourite ways to spend a weekend. Service scores the highest marks. All staff were friendly at the front desk, the spa, and the dining room. Room service lunch came on warmed plates and prices were very reasonable. Lots of local ingredients, fresh and simply prepared. The chèvre cheesecake is outstanding! I've never had to instruct the perfect Grey Goose lemondrop martini either; they make them perfectly. The Hydropath is the favourite way to spend an afternoon and swimming in the outdoor heated pool is fantastic in the rain. Sound proofing could be better and rooms could use further updating but it's a comfortable resort at a great price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff were truly wonderful! The setting is tough to beat too. We didn't get to enjoy the spa but we did have fabulous tasty breakfast!
The rooms have carpet and are a bit worn and in need of love/upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The eagle suite on the second floor is the best suite in this hotel. The wrap-around windows allow for unparalleled ocean views. Because it has almost west-facing windows, you can enjoy sunsets right from the dining and living rooms. Booking this room makes an already great stay at the Kingfisher even better. We especially liked the large entrance and deck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Via_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review viagirl, and for posting those amazing photos of the views from the Eagle Suite. We do have an amazing location and our views continue to take my breath away even though I get the wonderful opportunity to see them daily.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you will continue to share your experience and your photos with us on TripAdvisor.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
416 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel by booking online at a discount, about half off the normal advertised rates (probably because it was off-season). We had to check in a bit late, but there was still a front desk clerk on staff. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a second-story room--no elevator for the portion of the hotel we were in, but it wasn't too big of an ordeal. The room was large and clean, and they even had Starbucks coffee in the room (so much better than the no-name brands you usually see!) The beds could have been a little softer; a pillow-top or memory foam would have been wonderful for the price these rooms usually go for. Our view in the morning was just spectacular-- a lovely view of the bay and the courtyard. We walked down to the beach for a bit and got some great photos. I wish we could have stayed longer--I hear their seafood buffet and the Hydropath in the spa are just amazing. I would totally stay here again if visiting the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
779 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing