We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Courtenay,B.C.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We rode our bikes here for a quiet getaway. The weather was beautiful and we lounged around the pool. We got a great deal from Travel Zoo and felt we got good value for our money. We also had a nice meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    306
    121
    52
    33
See reviews for
148
454
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I went to the Kingfisher after hearing of how great it was for the past 10 years from my mother. I was not disappointed! My best friend and I went away for a relaxing weekend, we arrived late on a rainy day to a warm genuine welcome by super friendly staff! After the quick run down and tips, we went t our room. We opened the door to a beautiful smell and a HEATED room! Which after a cold drive was much appreciated.

The room was simple but very clean, with what looked like fresh paint on the walls and some small seaside embellishes which tied it together. The room from our large windows was gorgeous!! The ocean and fog... Just the sound of it was soothing.

At first I joked that it was a cult because everyone walked around in robes to and from the spa and pool, but it was wonderful! Staff was incredible, treatments were amazing, if you ever go there you MUST try the west coast hydro path! I'm going again in January ( I bought an online deal for very cheap!) and I'm going to go again and make sure I do that twice!

The restaurant on site was beautiful and delicious, well worth the price for a special occasion.

The outdoor heated pool is awesome on a rainy night!! I totally recommend going!

Room Tip: Ask if ocean view means on the water or just a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We recently spend a long weekend here. Booked the romantic room option. That gives you a tub that mostly fits two (it wasn't long enough for both of us to be fully wet), a gas fireplace, shower for two and a king bed. As well a nice patio overlooking the beach. All in all, perfect for the two of us to hole up and spend some time together. We also had a kitchenette with electric burner, microwave, starbucks coffee and coffeepot and two sets of dishware. We ate breakfast and tapas lunches in our room (by choice) and went out for dinner. Saved a ton of money that way. The restaurant is very nice for dinner. Think pricey long relaxing dinner. Entrees were ~$30. Worth it though, the food was great. I think the Sunday Buffet was $30/head, we didn't do that.

The spa is very nicely done. The Hydropath is interesting. Hard to explain but you really should experience it. The Hydropath then massage is what we did. Book early! They are busy. We wanted to do the Hydropath again but they were fully booked for the whole long weekend.

As a guest of the hotel part you can use the pool, hot tub, dry sauna and steam cave. Great option indeed. We spend many hours lazing around in the various pool/tub/steam cave.

Well worth the drive up from Vancouver for a nice relaxing long weekend away.

Room Tip: Spend the extra couple bucks to get the front building rooms. The back building rooms maybe be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are thrilled to hear about your enjoyable stay with us Dave D! It sounds like you were able to experience the romantic weekend getaway we are proud to provide. Thank you for your feedback and review. We love hearing about our guest's experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love the Kingfisher, I live just down the road from it. It's a great place to go for sunday brunch! I go there for yoga classes and then get to use the pool, hot tub, and stream room after. It's such a relaxing place, and everyone who works there is so friendly and nice.

I have also stayed at the Kingfisher, in the ocean view rooms and the garden view rooms. I would recommend the ocean view, they have a jet tub in the room and are not quite as dated as the others.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSummerSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review ILoveSummerSun. We love hearing from our neighbours who are able to enjoy our amenities like yoga and of course our absolutely amazing Sunday Brunch.

We hope to see you often!

All the best,

Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a romantic three days here on the ocean. The room was large and comfortable with a gas fireplace and deck facing the ocean. The restaurant was excellent and we did the hydro activity in the spa. All was perfect and very afforadable.

Room Tip: Second floor on the ocean is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My Common Law Husband surprised me for my 45th Birthday by taking me to the Kingfisher Resort and Spa. What do I have to say is WOW. Everything was great, hotel staff, spa staff and Restaurant staff.
We had the Pacific Mist Hydropath Spa Treatment which inculdes 8 different steps to go through. The outside pool was heated even to an degree that was a bit warmer then a bath. All I can say is we're looking forward to going back in March which is already booked.

Room Tip: Rooms all have a view of the ocean. Just some also share the view of the Spa and Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bclady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review bclady2012. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our staff in exceeded your expectations! Our Hydropath is definitely a unique and remarkable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in March.

All the best,

Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I one time rated the food and service as Superb. Oct. brought a new menu ( disappointing.) and new staff ( also disappointing.) along with new management ( ? )

What selection there was was Good but no longer superb. 4/5.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandDodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
98.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing