We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courtenay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in an oceanfront site and like this property better than almost anywhere else we have camped. The beach is perfect for kayaking, fishing or beachcombing. I loved being able to slip into my kayak and paddle with the seals less than 10 minutes away in Seal Bay Park. The campsites are close together but you can enjoy the sounds of waves lapping on the beach because it is well managed. We had neighbours who cranked up their music and were getting drunk and disorderly, but the campground manager dealt with it right away and the rest of our stay was uneventful - except for the stunning sunsets and wonderful paddling. The bathrooms are spotless and showers are cheap. Make sure to hike the trails at Seal Bay Nature Park - its a 10 minute walk to the park or a short 3 minute drive to the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from Bates Beach. We went from Aug 23rd to Aug 26th and I have to say it was an AWESOME time! I love Bates Beach and we are for sure going to make this an annual trip. The staff is so friendly, even the other campers are really nice. The view is to die for and it is so clean. We rented a boat and went fishing and it was so much fun! I highly recommend Bates Beach. Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minaa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We just had a lovely time at the Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort. We stayed in a second floor suite overlooking the beach, with ocean breezes, the sound of the waves and gorgeous scenery over the water. The suite was very clean and comfortable, and we had everything we needed. I even requested a fan before we arrived (based on the rather strange review about no AC), but we didn't need it even in the hot weather. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit dated, which was fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are not enough lines of information to tell about our horrific stay! It started from the get go, when we opened the door to our condo/ sublet rental the inside temperature was stifling!! guess what? No A/C and No fan.There was a bad smell from inside the unit that didn't go away. When we had our first meal we had to wash our dishes first they were filthy' greasy right out of the cupboard. The oven dial didn't have any numbers on it so we had to guess what temperature it was at, a hard way to cook Our main reason for our stay was to rent a boat from them and go out on the Georgia Straight to fufill a request of loveones. We were assured that the water calms in the afternoon for about 3 to 4 hours. We were there for 4 days and were told we couldn't go out each day because of the wind. We saw numerous small craft on the water not having any problems, but were told but here were white caps out there (not noticeable by the naked eye). After three days of no room service, we had to ask for clean towels and garbage bags to take out our own garbage. We were paying premium hotels prices and received no common/expected services. We had maintenance workers knocking on our door at 8 AM to do work on our room, not a good thing! Water pressure in the shower was very low and it squealed loudly while the shower on. I don't have many nice things to say about our stay, only that it didn't rain.

Room Tip: hard to find don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

i have been going to bates since i was little, i have tented a bunch of times and gone in a camper a bunch of times and also stayed in thier trailors/mobiles a handful of times, i love it so much there i even considered having my wedding on the beach, which despite others reviews is sandy and quite swimmable just around the curve ofbthe campsites (about a 1min walk and private), i try to return every year and if i had one suggestion it would be to camp on other side of the little bridge, there are trees seperating the sites it is more private and closer to sandy beach "perrys beach" i believe its called, thier kayaking is fun and affordable and you will normally find you have seal friends follow you around, the washrooms are convientanly close and clen and each site has outlets and water so no need for tenters to walk to water stations, it is very dog friendly there and kid friendly, all of my favorite childhood memories are from bates, for my brother as well im sure. if i ever win the lottery i will be buying a house above bates and spending a lot of time around those beaches! it is beautiful, bring a camera, there is always a amazing sunrise and sunset in the summer months, and plenty of wildlife, hope u give it a chance! i find that most of the negative reviews r usually left by people that let everything get to them ur never going to be absolutely seperate and that close to the ocean camping! bates has great accomidations and views so enjoy it - love life!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The sites are very, very small. We parked our tent camper in site #32 and our neighbor's tent was 3 feet from our picnic table. No privacy at all. Although it's luck of the draw that our neighbors were drunken bikers with a vocabulary consisting mainly of *f* words. I feel we shouldn't have to complain, but the camp manager did little to calm them down, even when he did his "rounds". The music all day and night was one thing, but the drunken fighting into the wee hours was another issue. Of course you can't pick your neighbors. On the plus side, the view is spectacular. Lots of wildlife (not just the bikers) Rock hounds and star gazers would love it here too and the bathrooms are very clean.  

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked for one night and when we pulled in, we were directed to a tiny sliver of a site on the edge of a cement parking lot. Our picnic table was under the neighbouring trailer's slideout and was unusable and the fire pit was inches away from the other neighbours and they appeared to have been drinking beer all day and had a mess that extended into our site. The view is ok but the beach is rocky and it smells terrible. We spent an hour there trying to make the best of it as the staff were unwilling to refund our money but we eventually left. This is not a family-friendly campsite or even what I would consider camping. Go north 30 minutes to Miracle Beach Provincial campsite... it had real tree-separating private campsites and the beach is sandy and gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Courtenay hotels
6.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
959 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
6.2 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
417 reviews
6.4 mi away
Anco Inn
Anco Inn
#7 of 9 in Courtenay
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 5726 Coral Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9J 1W9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Courtenay
Price Range: $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay, BC's most beautiful resort location - Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort. Located just north of the town of Courtenay, on Georgia Straight, Bates Beach boasts beautiful rocky beaches, great fishing, and a gorgeous natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bates Beach Oceanfront Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing