We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Courtenay Restaurant!”
Review of Bisque

Bisque
Ranked #5 of 142 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For those who have already found it, the charm of bisque comes as no suprise. The fast paced lunch changes to a relaxed evening out. Just steps away from the Best Western and Old House Hotel and Spa our Fresh West Coast Menu includes local seafoods,lamb, house made fresh pasta, AAA steaks and a nightly fresh sheet. fully licenced
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Courtenay Restaurant!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Bisque for the first time last evening. We went with friends who'd been before, and who thought we would enjoy it. They were right! The food was excellent. My roast lamb was fabulous, and my wife said her baked salmon was also first rate. Everything was done just right, including the accompanying vegetables. The service could not have been better. The Bisque's ambiance was pleasing as well, with simple but classy decor, and quiet enough to enjoy conversation. The Bisque is a relatively small restaurant, so it was a good thing we'd made a reservation. Every table had been reserved when we arrived at 5:30. The Bisque is a real find!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulhami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    51
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband told me about this restaurant he read about on Trip Advisor and said we should try it for lunch. Well the Bisque stood up to its reviews. Had the soup and sandwich special and the tomato basil with feta was one of the tastiest soups I have had in a long time. The montreal smoked meat in the sandwich was moist and generous. Hubby loved his Ruben and fries...stole a couple and they were well cooked. Our waitress was helpful and very pleasant. Next time want to try the crab cakes and the bisque.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladysfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intimate with excellent food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A small restaurant with excellent food and service. With so few tables, you feel very pampered. Definitely a good choice in Courtenay

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After seeing such a high rating on T.A. I decided to go in and give it a try. I started with the Bisque, figuring that it must be exceptional seeing as they named their restaurant after it. How right I was! I usually tend to enjoy a chowder for any starter soup but I was glad to have tried it, delicious! Their cocktails are really good as well. I then had the Prawn Basket (comes with a really large side of house salad or ceasar) and found that the prawns were perfectly cooked with a delicious sauce to compliment them, the ceasar salad was delicious and im sure that the dressing is made from scratch though I didnt ask. The waitress was extremely nice, we enjoyed our meals and we will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
626 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A fine restaruant in the middle of Town”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just off the main street of Courtenay you will finds this little gem of a restaurant - great food and very generous servings! A great variety on the menu - adequate wine list and great service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smoltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisque also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Bisque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing