We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but noisy”

Locals Restaurant at the Old House
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Locals Restaurant in now located at the historic Old House along the river in the center of town. This 1937 Arts and Crafts era inspired homestead is the perfect location for the fine cuisine prepared by European trained chef, Ronald St. Pierre.
Comox, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food but noisy”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I love Locals. The food is excellent, service great. You can add 'ditto' from me to all the accolades. However.....I have had lunch twice in the restaurant, once downstairs and once upstairs. And the noise level from the happy customers made it very difficult to hear my own friends speak. My companions and I talked about this yesterday and they concurred. We had to lean in to hear each other. We are all familiar with eating at the original Old House and we do not recall sound ever being an issue. We are curious as to why it is now. Have other diners experienced the same? I would be very reluctant to take an elderly person there because the loud chatter is a distraction.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am pleased that you took the time to post a reveiw. I appreciate your comments. We have had some consultation in this regard. and are looking to improve the noise level. That said, we appreciate it when customers ask for a quieter spot, as we will do our best to seat people where it is quietest. However, it is holiday season and people are noiser and visitiong more, especially on week ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    128
    49
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Dined here last night for the first time and it will not be the last time. Building and room are very attractive. The menu is surprisingly large with a wide variety. Our server was excellent as well. The highlight was definitely the entrees. My wife's New York steak was very tender, delicious and perfectly cooked. I had the venison which was so buttery soft and the accompanying sauce was perfect. We don't get away from our busy lives very often so this really was a delight.

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Perfect Spot for a Perfect Restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

You would have to travel a long way to even come near to what this restaurant offers .
The charm of the location is unmatched in the mid and upper island .
The chef is superb , and the food is fresh , well presented and delicious .
We sat in front of a cozy fireplace , in an extremely lovely room .
The staff is well trained , and very pleasant and welcoming .
All in all , this is the perfect spot for a special occasion , or any occasion !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanc0uverIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello neighbors to the south!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We LOVE our new location! It has been a joy to decorate this old house. Even though we have been extremely busy during the holiday season, it is good to hear that we are still meeting the high standards we strive to maintain!!
Thank you,
Tricia St. Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant. My husband and I travel quite a bit, and love to dine out when doing so. We've eaten in many fine European restaurants, and really appreciate that Locals offers up the sort of dining experience we have come to appreciate. We expect not to be rushed, and appreciate the European style meal pacing. The food and ambiance at Locals are superb.
Go for the evening - relax and savour the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Rita,
Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate that a well traveled foodie such as yourself enjoys our cooking and service. We typically offer 2 1/2 hours for dinner, which it much longer than most restaurants. We want people to DINE!! Sometimes people feel the service is a litlle slow, but we try to pace the meal so that every course can be enjoyed. It is always good to let us know if you have a time constraint such as a show or plane to catch!!
Thank you for your generosity and continued patronage!
Sincerely,
Tricia St. PIerre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

During 6 weeks of touring in BC we visited Locals twice and found it to be one of the best restaurants we visited in 6 weeks. Our first visit was on a Saturday night and it was full but they put us into a small corner alcove and we had a wonderful meal. When we finished the owner's wife said that she would drive us back to the Holiday Inn so we did not have to walk that very dark pathway. The service was far better than we would expect at home so we said we would go again a week later on our way down to Victoria.
A week later on our way south we went on a Sunday night with no reservation and were seated in the same area and the service and food were as good as our first visit.
Locals is a great restaurant and we would love to have a restaurant as good in Western Australia.
To Ronald and your wife Tricia, we thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Fellow Foodies from Perth,
You were a joy to serve! It is wonderful to receive high praise from seasoned travelers such as yourselves. I hope you had fun discovering our little island in the Pacific Northwest. We do have the most amazing food products to work with, from the land, sea and air. Glad to hear you arrived home safely. Thank you for taking the time to share your experince. Till the next time.......
Tricia St. PIerre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locals Restaurant at the Old House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Locals Restaurant at the Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing