We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM, YUM, YUMMY!”

Locals Restaurant at the Old House
Ranked #1 of 141 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locals Restaurant in now located at the historic Old House along the river in the center of town. This 1937 Arts and Crafts era inspired homestead is the perfect location for the fine cuisine prepared by European trained chef, Ronald St. Pierre.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“YUM, YUM, YUMMY!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

While staying in the Old House hotel we had 3 dinners here. All our dinners were excellent and beautifully presented. Coming from Alberta, we chose fish every time and enjoyed every bite. There were "bonus" little treats throughout the meal as well with tiny tastings of appetizers, yummy specialty butter for their bread as well as tiny dessert treats at the end of the meal, all just as a bonus. The service was very friendly, professional and attentive. The wine selection was good as well. Their setting on the grounds of the hotel really add to the atmosphere of the patio where we stayed, as it is nestled amongst some pretty gardens, trees and also some glimpses of the water. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5gophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    123
    48
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“expected better”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A friend and I went for lunch at Local's last week. The Old house is beautiful.
That's the nicest thing about the experience....the food was ok, unremarkable, service was slow, and they charged 2$ for a piece of burnt bread that I had asked for when I got my bowl of mussels in sauce, which was just ok, way too many of the mussels didn't open, so they were uneatable, and the portion wasn't huge to begin with......I really think the bread should come with it.
My friend had a seafood sandwich, she said it was nice. So we wont rush back..there is a lot of choice here in Courtenay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juanita499153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wild salmon like butter melting in your mouth!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate at Locals last year in their old location tucked in a corner of an old mall. Now they have renovated and moved into the Old House - awesome choice! Fresh, local food and wine - even from our favorite Beaufort Winery in Courtenay. Every mouthful was a wonderful sensation. They have a 3-course menu which is great value. Not exactly inexpensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzGirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Courtenay”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant is not to be missed on a visit to Courtenay. It has a great setting, wonderful food and excellent service. Reservations are mandatory.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I returned to Local's with my husband and some friends friday evening for a birthday celebration and we had a lovely meal. I had halibut in a curry sauce which was awesome and my husband's steak, a striploin I think, was beautifully cooked. Everyone at the table agreed that both the food and the service was spot on. We will all be returning soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marywhiteswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locals Restaurant at the Old House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Locals Restaurant at the Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing