We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet spot for a spot of lunch . . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locals Restaurant at the Old House

Locals Restaurant at the Old House
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locals Restaurant in now located at the historic Old House along the river in the center of town. This 1937 Arts and Crafts era inspired homestead is the perfect location for the fine cuisine prepared by European trained chef, Ronald St. Pierre.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quiet spot for a spot of lunch . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lunch for two with your favorite girl or a business meeting of the minds - Locals provides an ideal environment with privacy or open space. And the best is yet to come - the fare. We dashed in with a little under an hour and the menu didn't disappoint - as usual. I picked the table du hote of soup or salad, tortiere and an apple crumble while my sweetie chose the chicken club wrap. Portions were great - my wife took away enough for lunch the next day while I demolished every lick of my favorite French Canadian dish. Service is friendly and accommodating. Lunch or dinner - you'll want to linger so plan your time when next downtown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    119
    48
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Courtenay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Local's never fails to impress me with their food. They do an excellent job preparing locally sourced ingredients for what I think is a fairly reasonable price given the quality of food you are getting. I also love the atmosphere they have created in their dinning room, it reminds me off a country home in the autumn, very comfortable and inviting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KayComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent food and service. The menu was interesting and health conscious. The decor was different. A very uptown experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Chad,
I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We do have a healthy menu, especially as we deep fry NOTHING. As well, everything is made from scratch in house, and made to order There are no artificial ingredients, thickeners, coloring agents, preservatives or any other "funny stuff". Just pure,clean food, the way it should be. It just tastes better!!
Thank you, Tricia St. Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent meal,excellent service highly recommended. Best meal we have had on Vancouver Island for a long time, will definitely visit again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, but well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Amazing food and service, really a case of you get what you pay for. My tuna steak was AMAZING! The server was very knowledgable, the ambiance was very appealling. No complaints!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuck_Aviatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locals Restaurant at the Old House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Locals Restaurant at the Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing