We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Yummy”
Review of Michael's Off Main

Michael's Off Main
Ranked #22 of 144 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So Yummy”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I decided to try this place after having eggs benedict at 2 other breakfast restaurants in Courtenay and being very disappointed in both of them. That was not the case here. The hollandaise sauce here is perfection. Everything about the meal was perfect If you like eggs benedict, this is the place to get it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Incredible Eggs Benedict. (The waiter said they are famous for their Hollandaise sauce -- and I believe it!) The Breakfast Strata (like a quiche) is also very tasty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightbeacons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arrived at 10 AM on a Saturday morning. Restaurant was full except for one table by the window at the front of the restaurant. The hostess was leading us to the back of the restaurant and we asked if we could have the window table. The reply from the hostess was "Oh no, I'm going to take you to the back - Jenny (can't recall name she used) will take really good care of you." We were lead to the back of the restaurant down a narrow hall, past the bathrooms to a small room with one small window to the storage area and seated on bar stools at a table too low to accommodate bar stools. Minimal decoration and very little ambiance. There were about 4 other tables in the back. We were not impressed. We decided to leave and on the way out the hostess said we could have the window table if we wanted. We were curious as to why our request was not taken seriously when we arrived. After not being taken seriously and patronized we decided to try another restaurant down the street that has always treated us well. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast down the street. We were looking to try another restaurant in view of encouraging local business. We are a professional couple and eat out a lot. We will not be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Was also there March 10..”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

As stated below. The restaurant was very busy & the service was a bit slow. We arrived within 30 min. Received our order. Food was amazing. Coffee was average diner coffee. We heard the couple complain numerous times but did our best to ignore it. We were happy to get brunch on a Sunday. & enjoy the atmosphere. Yes. Cream was low; they filled it. Servers were run off their feet. A table of 6 at the front had arrived before us. So we were glad to have got our food within a reasonable time. We will go back. I loved the pan fries. Crispy! The way I like them . I ordered the Blackstone and tomato. Yummy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriasiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WORST BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE EVER IN COURTENAY”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Sunday March 10th, 2013, my wife and I decided to go for Sunday breakfast. My wife said a friend recommended this place for large plates. We arrived about 12:30 and the place was full. The place is tiny but artsy with lots of interesting things on the walls. Our waiter had a coffee pot in his hands when seating us and immediately we had coffee poured and a menu placed (good). Our waiter was about 20 years old. We asked if we could get some creme. We waited 5 minutes and the waiter never bother to get us creme. A waitress walked by and we had to ask her for creme. She seemed polite and said the male waiter was usually not so forgetful. We both agreed with another reviewer that the coffee is horrible, acidic, and tastes very bitter. The waiter arrived and took our order and asked if we wanted more coffee. No thanks! We then waited and waited for our breakfast, more than 35 minutes. In that time we asked the waitress for water to get the bitter taste of the coffee away. The waitress brought water. The male waiter spent a lot of time with a larger group of young males whom he appeared to know sitting at a front large table. The waiter was over there laughing and waiting on his friends but never came back in 35 minutes to check on us.In that time, another couple sat down and they had there food and finished by the time ours arrived. Finally the food. I had the farmers breakfast. The vegi omelet. It came on a large plate with baked potato pieces that were over cooked (burnt) and the omelet was fairly tasteless. The potatoes had no spices what so ever and are simply cut up and baked. There is Hp sauce and ketchup on the table. I had to use the hp to give the stuff some taste. My wife had the eastern crab and shrimp benny special. She said it was "nothing special" and barely ate it.The male waiter never came back to ask us how the food was. Overall about the service, we noticed that both the waiter and waitress seemed to give a lot of attention to people they seemed to know but pretty much ignore other customers unless they are asked for something like water. We were going to get up and just leave after 35 minutes waiting for the food but my wife said, "we will just wait five more and then leave if the food isn't here". I didn't leave a tip at all and the waiter said 'thanks Bud" as we left. I guess he is use to getting no tip. We agreed we will never go back there and will warn our friends to stay away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Off Main also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Michael's Off Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing