We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Nearby Hotels
$73
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Westerly Hotel(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old House Hotel & Spa(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$212
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anco Inn(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comox Valley Inn(Courtenay)
$74
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Augusta Inn and Suites(Comox)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
300
150
25
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
150
25
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesbreakfast roomhi expressfree breakfastfront desk stafffamily suitehot tubyogurtcomox valleyliving areagreat poolwalking pathmini fridgeflat screenwould stay againvancouver islandroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 486 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel is well situated for Mt Washington. It's whats you'd expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The rooms are basic but clean and good for a no-frills stay. I would say that the breakfast could be improved but it was included in the price so I cant complain too much.

The pool and the hot tub were nice extra's but slightly spoiled buy the never-ending screams of kids on the water-slide. Good for kids, but adults shouldn't count on the hot-tub for an apres-ski wind-down.

Room Tip: Forgo the view and get a room facing away from the road for a quieter night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Anna S,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our pool.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is our place of choice when staying in Courtenay. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Our kids love the pool and water slide. Located in the centre of Courtenay, only 35 minutes away from Mount-Washington, this Holiday Inn is a reliable choice when staying in the Comox Valley.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Bosley2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Truly enjoyed our stay. Rooms are clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and the included morning breakfast was surprisingly good... The great value and high quality of this Holiday Inn Express was unexpected.

It’s about time a budget hotel was not a disappointment.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgerBillEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We pulled into the Courtenay Holiday Inn Express a little earlier than we expected. We were not really planning to check in but since we discovered we were at the place where we had already had reservations we thought we might as well try. We were greeted by an absolutely wonderful staff member who got us checked in. Our room was very clean and very well maintained. We were a little tired so we settled in for a nap and just a moment to gather ourselves before our event.
I took a stroll around the facility to check out the hot tub and pool. there is a large slide for the kids and well appointed fitness room. The pool, hot tub and slide area is an echo chamber so it is very loud and noisy. We were back in time to catch some late tv and relax a bit. the beds are very comfortable and we didn't hear a lot of noisy from the busy road outside of the hotel.
I was up early enough to go for a jog around the municipal airport behind the hotel. I was guided there by the same helpful staff member who assisted us checking in. After my walk I checked out the breakfast room. the place was a zoo - just filled with people and a lot of kids. So I just loaded up a collection of food and took it too my room. the breakfast food was very good and varied.
Our cheque out was very easy and accurate. so all in all our trip was really good. Now for the other shoe. There was only one criticism that we had and that was the television. Oh it came in fine and the LED tv was good. But the channel selection sucked. there wasn't a lot of choice and scrolling through the channels you could see what you were missing.

I would recommend staying here - just find other ways of entertaining yourself.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back and on the main floor. There are really no views to be had here. Bring some of your own entertainment - tv selection is terrible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Brought my basketball team here Jan 17-Jan 20 2013.

Pre-arrival: The hotel manager (M. Popovic) was extremely courteous and helpful via email for addressing our booking needs. Gave us the group rate + ommitted the extra person per night fee.

Arrival:
Hotel's appearance pops in a street where there wasn't much else. Lobby was very clean and looked new. The staff we had throughout the day/nights were amazing - everyone was extra friendly and helpful.

Rooms: Looked like they were renovated (or the hotel was relatively new). We had 2 queen bed rooms and that meant 4 pillows on each bed - 2 were soft, 2 were firm but all helped with a great sleep. Spacious room with a solid desk and 30' LCD. The bathroom itself was huge compared to other hotels I've been in and came fully loaded: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, etc. All told, these rooms were excellent for 15-17 year olds and adults.

Dining: The breakfast was by far the best breakfast I've had at a hotel - eggs (different kinds, cheese omletes, scrambled and egg patties (think McMuffin style) each day of the day), sausage patties, mini sausages, ham and bacon. An assortment of bread (whole wheat, bagels, english muffin), juice, yogurt, milk, cereal and a pancake maker. All told, this is DEFINITELY a big part of why we'll be returning.

Local options include: BP, White Spot, Wendys, McDonalds, Burger King and some local places within 2 blocks.

Amenities: Parking is plentiful. The pool is 3'-5' deep and has a sweet indoor slide with a good sized hot tub. 24 hour workout room was small but had everything you need to get a good workout in. WiFi took a few minutes to connect but was consistent throughout the stay (and free).

Definitely going back next time we're in Courtenay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanIranRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews