We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Anco Inn(Courtenay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comox Valley Inn(Courtenay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
300
150
25
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
150
25
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesbreakfast roomhi expressfree breakfastfront desk stafffamily suitehot tubyogurtcomox valleyliving areagreat poolwalking pathmini fridgeflat screenwould stay againvancouver islandroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 486 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

While I am usually not a fan of chain hotels....I must say I am becoming a big fan of the Holiday Inn Express! Service was very helpful and friendly. Hotel is new, clean, and bright - still has that fresh smell to it. The rooms are very spacious and I just loved the little wet bar with granite counter top, bar fridge and microwave. There was comfortable chair and ottoman in the corner with a perfectly placed reading light, large flat screen TV and handy business desk with plug-ins for everything. The bathroom was well stock with all the essentials and very spacious! The beds are super comfortable, firm but not hard. And the windows open for fresh air...Yeah!!!
And of course the free breakfast ...delicous.

A note for tour operators: Lots of bus parking, and covered entry way for easy drop-offs for large groups. International groups will love this hotel with its modern decor, spacious rooms, waterslide for the kids, great group rates and a generous breakfast. With all these amenities the Holiday Inn Express makes this hotel my first choice for overnight stays in Courtenay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jauline, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you sincerely for your review titled “I’m lovin’ the Holiday Inn Express”. The title of your review has officially warmed the hearts of the staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express! We certainly feel that we have a beautiful hotel that guests love and we are ecstatic that you feel the same!

The satisfaction of valued guests like you is of paramount importance to us! Compliments like this are truly inspiring and we genuinely appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with the world on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! We are delighted to be your first choice, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sincerely,

Jauline Matkin
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a Mount Washington ski vacation. I will comment first on my overall impression of the hotel, and then on the room itself.

From check-in to check-out, the staff were all very friendly. The hotel is new, and both clean and modern. The layout of the hotel is great, and everything is easily accessible. They offer enough luggage carts so that we didn't have to wait for one even when they were busy.

The breakfast was similar to what we've experienced at other Holiday Inn Express locations, but overall the quality and options seemed better. They offered quite a few options, including eggs prepared differently each day (scrambled, omelettes, etc.). They offered a nice selection of healthier options as well including whole wheat bread/bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. They also had the usual cinnamon buns, cake based muffins, sausages, etc. But there was definitely enough to keep us all happy. They also offer plenty of seating in the main dining area, and have opened up a conference room for overflow as well. It was very busy while we were there, and they managed to keep the food fresh and topped up.

The hotel pool and hot tub were clean, and they offered an indoor waterslide. The whole family enjoyed this, and we used the facility every day after skiing. They also have a small fitness room with some cardio and weight equipment.

We stayed in a room that had a separate bedroom with a king bed and jacuzzi tub. This was a great layout because our kids slept in the living room on the pull-out couch, and still had access to the bathroom. This room offered lots of space.

We appreciated that we could buy our lift passes at the hotel so we didn’t have to stand in line when we got up on the hill. This was very convenient, and we’ll do it again.

My only complaint about our stay, because everything else was excellent, would be the location of our room. Second floor rooms on the front of the hotel, between about 208 and 216 sit behind the large covered awning/entryway. This was a problem for a number of reasons. First, the hotel (like all Holiday Inn Express Hotels) must play music 24/7 to greet people as they arrive. Unfortunately, the sound of this music is reflected directly at the rooms between 208 and 216. The first and second nights we thought there was a nightclub in the area (or rowdy guests in another room), and called down to the front desk. It wasn't until later on the second evening that we finally realized it was the speakers in the drive-up entryway. When we spoke to the front desk, they turned the music down right away and solved that problem. The second issue we had with the covered entryway is that they fly a number of flags off the end of the large awning. When the wind picks up (as it did the first night), the awning amplifies the sound of the flags flapping in the wind, and it sounds like a train clickity-clacking, or a luggage cart being driven back and forth on the brick walkways.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future, and will recommend it to our friends, but we will ask for either a room at the back of the hotel, of if we must be at the front, then a room on the third or fourth floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (any floor), or if you must be at the front of the hotel, ask for the 3rd or 4th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jauline, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your breakfast experience was both efficient and enjoyable! The Ownership and Breakfast Bar Management at our hotel have put forth considerable time and effort to ensure that we offer a wide range of healthy breakfast options in addition to the traditional Holiday Inn Express brand fare.

I am truly sorry to hear that the location of your guestroom did not afford you the peace and quiet that you both deserve and expect from your accommodation experience. Perhaps on your next visit to our hotel we can have one of our friendly Guest Service Agents add a note to your guest profile specifying that a room on the backside of the property with an ocean view, away from elevators or stairs would be more comfortable for you. If you are a Priority Club Rewards Member, we can even add this note to your member profile so that all Holiday Inn Express properties around the world will be aware of your preferences prior to arrival.

Your complete satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us; if ever there is anything that we can do to make your stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Comox Valley for your accommodation needs! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jauline Matkin
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Over the last few months, I have stayed at this hotel several times when I have been visiting the Comox Valley for work. It is a great hotel! The staff are professional, friendly and helpful! The hotel is new and clean! The rooms are nicely designed and love that there is a fridge and a microwave! The bed is comfy! It's all good! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildindigo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I was impressed with this hotel. Newer hotel, decent price, good location (in the middle of Courtenay near restaurants and stores). I appreciated that a daily breakfast was included during our stay. Throughout our breakfast, the staff kept the food supply stocked and hot and there were plenty of choices.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower head (an important feature for me) was great. Our room was quiet and right by the stairs, which we took, instead of the elevator which was farther away from our room (which contributed to the quietness factor).

While we didn't get a chance to try out the pool or hot tub, it looked busy each time we passed by. Not a huge indoor pool area, but I'm sure the waterslide is big attraction for families with children.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the third floor, away from the elevator, but right by the stairs. It was nice and quiet down there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaredVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

nice new hotel in courtenay..30 minutes from the slopes and close to good restaurants including the blackfin pub our union street grill or atlas restaurant...all with much better food than you find on the ski hill. Staff is friedly, ammenties are as expected, and the rooms are both newly decorated and very clean. A nice option if you are going to go to Mt Washington to ski or play golf at Crown Isle or my personal favorite Storey Creek

Room Tip: may not want to stay on the ground floor, otherwise a new hotel, free wi-fi, free breakfast with good amenities at a fair price and only 30 minutes from the slopes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canucktravellers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews