We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”

Ocean7 Restaurant, AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean7 Restaurant, AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Argyle
Transit: Bus stops at entrance
Description: Ocean7 Restaurant and AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar located at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa is newly renovated and re-opens in early March 2017. The new AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar features creative casual shared plates paired with fine wines and signature cocktails, while Ocean 7 Restaurant will focus on West Coast seafood, grain fed meats and fresh organic produce from local sustainable growers and suppliers. The culinary experience will be unparalleled with unique creations from our Executive Chef Nyle Petherbridge, an accomplished Red Seal chef who created menus for some of most successful well known establishments in British Columbia. Your senses will be awakened enjoying tantalizing food for the palate while gazing out to the vast ocean views which was the main focus in the design process. Spectacular panoramic waterscape views welcome you as you enter the main entrance for the two restaurants. Design elements make use of French provincial flair and modern West Coast accents featuring beautiful wine displays, soft woods, stone and antique tile finishes. Centralized in the AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar is an inviting New York style bar with rich marble countertops sourced from Vancouver Island’s top quarries. On beautiful sunny days, two large garage doors will open up to the patio enticing you to sit outside and bask in the warm sun with breathtaking views of the ocean and the beloved lush Kingfisher gardens. The new oversized outdoor fire pit will be a romantic spot to cozy up to watch the spectacular wildlife and sunsets. The adjoining space, Ocean 7 Restaurant, maintains a fine dining atmosphere with view tables and cozy booths, stair stepped to allow amazing vistas for all. The Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, not only a destination Spa Resort, but a destination for a top culinary tasting experience!
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a wonderful restaurant. A few years ago I had been to the Kingfisher Resort when it had been located below Courtenay going toward Nanaimo but this was my first opportunity at the new location. Excellent food. Fresh seafood. Good service. A bit on the pricey side but definitely the place to go when you want something special.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueBee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    36
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diet requests”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The staff had no problems accommodating my vegan diet. I loved what they came up with.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox valley, bc
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wish it was better...”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Went on Thanksgiving Sunday morning and was planning on having the brunch option but because it was Thanksgiving the price was up $10 to $35.99 plus tax and not including coffee. Most of our group decided to have something off the condensed breakfast menu. I ordered eggs benny ( $15...too high) and they arrived cold with cold potato/yam mix. My expectations were low and that was not exceeded. The decor is nice and the views spectacular. Our server was kind and sweet and I did not complain about my breakfast because I knew it wouldn't be good anyways. I had lunch here about 2 months ago and it was "just alright". 4 years ago, this was "the place" in the Comox Valley, but not anymore.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EatWell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a special occasion dinner.”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for my husband's birthday. The grounds around the restaurant are beautiful and the corner window table we had gave us a nice view of them and out to the water. The restaurant was not very crowed as the high tourist season is past. Service was pleasant and attentive. Our server was very helpful with the menu suggestions. The steak nicely cooked and presented. The mussels appetizer was great - local mussels and very fresh. The Seafood Steamer is not to be missed. Beautifully presented and everything was so fresh. Our server suggested the Dessert Sampler - all great choices - and even included a chocolate Happy Birthday wish. A lovely place in a beautiful setting - not to be missed if you are staying here or just passing through.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pacific Mist Hydropath”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife has wanted to stay at the Kingfisher spa so as a birthday present to her I decided to treat her to a two day stay there. They had a special mid-week packaged deal at the time that offered a couple two nights, breakfasts and the Pacific Mist Hydropath spa feature. The food was excellent and the stay very relaxing. My wife in particular enjoyed the various unique water features of the hydropath. I found the hydropath less enjoyable because all I could think of was how much more enjoyable it would be without a swimsuit. We have a secluded yard with a pool and hot tub so we are accustomed to the freedom, comfort and convenience of not wearing swimsuits. The hydropath feature is also secluded and lends itself to easily offer a clothes free option. I did send their management a suggestion that they schedule periods of the day for "European" style use and "American" style use but so far there has not been a response. We would like to visit again but won't until they allow the hydropath to be used"European" style without swim suits.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonGab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean7 Restaurant, AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Ocean7 Restaurant, AQUA Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing