We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This place is a real gem. George and Rachel are welcoming and accomodating and the whole place shows outstanding pride of ownership. Our room was cozy, immaculate and had everything we could need or want. The mini golf was fun and challenging and even our kids said that this was the best place we've stayed at (high praise for a couple of teenagers!) We will be sure to return and plan our trips around the ELL--we've already sung its praises to our family and friends. Thank you so much George for squeezing us in and making us feel at home. (AND for the chocolate!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianGriswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
130
230
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Excellent small motel set on the edge of the wildlife area, reception very welcoming. Room spacious, bed comfortable and room very well equipped with fridge, cooker, microwave, large tv.
Close to the Railway museum and about 10mins drive from the Fort Steele heritage town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Immaculate rooms, locally-made soap instead of usual hotel fare, extremely comfortable beds, pristine condition, fully-stocked kitchen, wonderful hosts, beautiful furnishings, environmentally conscious (lots of recycling), Book of Buddha as well as Gideon's Bible, half-price mini golf - all in all a lovely place and we will definitely return. We stayed in several higher-priced hotels on this trip and this was the best.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

An excellent private motel situated right at the south end of Cranbrook on Hwy 3 and so easy to find. Initial impressions from the entrance are a little bleak but Reception is very friendly and helpful and rooms look out onto an adjacent nature reserve (good for birders) to which there is direct walking access. Upper floor rooms have a better view across the lake.

We were on the upper floor in a two storey block which appears to have been open for over two years but which has been maintained to a very high standard. The room was large and comfortable and furnished simply but with very good quality furniture. Hanging space is a little restricted but there is plenty of drawer space. There was a good table with three dining chairs and an armchair. Air conditioning is effective.

The integral kitchenette is very well equipped with the usual equipment, pots, pans, cutlery, dishes etc all of which are of a very good standard. There is a full oven with a four ring hob.

The bathroom is good with excellent quality fittings and a heated floor, additional heater and plentiful supply of towels.

Everything was very clean and room servicing was of a high standard.

This is an exceptionally good motel which maintains the highest standards and which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

It sounds terribly patronising but Cranbrook might be the sort of place you pass through with barely a glance. And the Lodge, wood finish, murals and mini golf might get even less attention. But Trip Advisor praises and we listen. And are we glad we did. The whole place is a surprising delight on so many levels. The owners of the lodge are wonderful, the rooms immaculate and the beds as good as they say they are. After a long drive, a walk through the bird sanctuary is just what the doctor ordered. To cap it all, in a little strip mall, next to the bus station, is a restaurant, Allegra, that would stand up and be counted in any big city.
We are still chuckling about Elizabeth Lake Lodge. Both it and Cranbrook couldn't be and shouldn't be but the whole experience was quite simply a delight. Now and again you find something so refreshing it cheers your soul.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

From the ultra-comfortable bed with double sheeted duvet and very nice, clean bedspread to the heated bathroom floor, and the large wide-screen TV, this place is truly a gem. This place has many delightful touches, including high-end towel rods and plumbing fixtures, handmade soaps, and ultra soft towels that you find only in hotels at four times the price we paid. In addition, the place is pet-friendly! The kitchenette is well equipped and sparkling clean. The room had the feel of a snug and cozy apartment rather than a simple motel room.

The Lodge backs up to a wetland that boasts a very nice trail system. It is a peaceful place for a quite stroll, with great bird watching.

Our only regret was that we could not stay another night at this wonderful lodge on our way home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Elizabeth Lake Lodge had the most comfortable bed ever. Sheets were nice, pillows perfect. I am writing this review almost 2 years later because I haven't forgotten how much I appreciated ELL and I have not stayed in a nicer place since. Loved the adjacent water fowl sanctuary too. Owner was upbeat and fabulous - Cheerio! Room was super clean and modern with nice touches such as the lighting options, heated floor in the bathroom, and new tv. Plumbing worked nicely; shower was perfect. Flowers outside our window. I could tell the sweet owners put every effort into their lodge and I pray they never encounter any destructive guests. Nothing negative to say and I am picky!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
6.0 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
359 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Address: 590 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 4W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Canadian Alpine Lodge located at the south entrance to Cranbrook, adjacent to Elizabeth Lake Conservation area. Try our history of Kootenays mini golf course or enjoy a walk along the Marsh Trail. The lodge features the finest king and queen beds in Cranbrook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Lake Hotel Cranbrook
Elizabeth Lake Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing