We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else?!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I just returned home after staying at Elizabeth Lake Lodge for 3 nights and 4 days. Really, all I can say is that I confirm everything that has already been said. George opened the door for us before we could and called me by name. Gave us some tasty chocolate. Showed us to some trails around the lake behind the hotel. Showed us to our rooms. Gave us some great hints for geocaching which was our main reason for being in Cranbrook. Loaned us a book of maps with backroads to find the geocaches. Didn't want us to leave until we could share all our experiences with him. And don't forget Rachael. Every bit as helpful and kind! Recommended a great local place to eat. Helped us with a room after we decided to stay one more night. Made us feel like family. The rooms are very modern, great looking, and plenty comfortable. The conservation lake behind the hotel is perfect for a peaceful moment just listening to all the sounds of the different birds. All this for much less than the brand name hotels. I just don't know why anybody would give a second's thought to staying anywhere else in Cranbrook. Thanks again George and Rachael for a great holiday experience! Just sad that it's back to the grind for me now :(

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandShonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 572 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

From the initial greeting until we left, everything about the place and the staff was charming. These folks really understand the meaning of Customer Service! Our room overlooked the nature sanctuary & lake - lovely. And the mini golf (1/2 price for guests) was a hoot!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great place to stay. We stayed here in November 2012 and again in April of this year. The bed is so comfortable, lovely linens, we had a good nights sleep. Well equipped kitchen, stove with oven, refrigerator, over the stove microwave and granite countertops. The bathroom is spa like, with deep tub, heated floors and towel rail. There was a very comfortable leather recliner and a large flat screen tv. All of the furnishings in the room are very tasteful. With the lake behind the lodge, it is a lovely setting. The owners are welcoming, friendly, and very helpful. We were helped with our luggage and shown to our beautiful room. After a long day it was a welcome sight. To top it all off you are given a choice of excellent chocolate. This is a gem that we are delighted to have discovered.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms on each side of the building. Both rooms were excellent and we had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After looking for a place to spend the night in Cranbrook on the way home to Calgary from Vancouver we were shocked by the rates at the chain hotels in Cranbrook. We knew they would be average at best. The Elizabeth Lake Lodge has the best rating so we phoned to make a reservation. That is where the excellent service started. When we arrived we were greeted and they knew who we were immediately. We were blown away when we were shown to our room not just given a key. The beds are unbelievable. I do not sleep well and particularly in hotels but we slept until after 9AM without a sound from anywhere. It was amazing.
We don't have reason to return to Cranbrook but might just to experience the Elizabeth again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have traveled around the world and stayed in hotels in over 30 countries, including some of the "best" hotels in the world. Elizabeth Lake Lodge beats any of these hotels hands-down in terms of comfort as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, George and Rachel. As a resident of Golden, BC, I occasionally travel to Cranbrook for work and pleasure and always look forward to staying here. The rooms are tastefully decorated and make each guest feel right at home, while the owners genuinely care about each individual staying with them. The attention to detail of this family-run business is fantastic and these efforts have left memorable impressions on me and my fiancee. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryouko_Loco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Needed a overnight stay and after reading some reviews decided to stay here. One of the best beds I have ever slept in. Service was fist rate. Room was spotless. Heated floors in bathroom was a nice touch. There were some issued with Shaw cable but nothing to detract from the stay.

Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebDaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this lovely place many times and highly recommend it. George and Rachel welcome you like old friends and do everything they can to make you stay wonderful. We will always stay here when in Cranbrook.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbyJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
6.0 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 18 in Cranbrook
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
16.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Address: 590 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 4W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Canadian Alpine Lodge located at the south entrance to Cranbrook, adjacent to Elizabeth Lake Conservation area. Try our history of Kootenays mini golf course or enjoy a walk along the Marsh Trail. The lodge features the finest king and queen beds in Cranbrook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Lake Hotel Cranbrook
Elizabeth Lake Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing