We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a pleasure to stay there while we were skiing Kimberley & Fernie last week. (half an hour to Kimberley and a little over an hour to Fernie) The service from start to finish was awesome. The owner should be on the speaking circuit inspiring people to improve their customer service. He found hockey tickets, pool passes for us - snow was even dusted off the cars in the morning. They were were happy to accommodate our pet. Price for the family suite was inexpensive and perfect with 3 queens in 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms
As for the stay - rooms are clean, heated tile floors are great, kitchenette was small but functional. Road an train noise was noticeable not a problem and ALL off the hotels in town we saw were along the tracks & highway.
Our dog even enjoyed the opportunity for a morning walk in the natural area behind the Lodge.
We have had some pretty awesome family vacations but ELL helped put this one in the top three for a couple of our kids.
What a pleasure to stay at a family run business owned by people who are passionate about what they do. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LacombeFamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 572 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I can't say enough great things about the service and hospitality at the Elizabeth Lake Lodge. From check-in to restaurant recommendations (including a ride to the restaurant) to the overall quality of the rooms, it was an absolute pleasure to stay at this hotel. The bed was amazing - so comfortable, and the heated floors and towel racks were great too. It is beside the highway and close to the RR tracks, but so is everything in Cranbrook. Plus, they have done a very good job with their soundproofing (especially if you keep the bathroom door closed) and I had a great night's sleep.

If you are in Cranbrook, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Customer service at check-in was great. The beds and pillows were terrible. If you like really firm beds, as in hard, this is the place. The pillows were too big to use to sleep on.
There was a kitchenette, which we didn't use, but a sign that said we would be charged if we left any dirty dishes. All I used was the usual glass for water and coffee cup for coffee. Didn't like the idea that I had to wash these or be charged. Nice touch with the homemade soaps, heated bathroom floors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLCranbrook, Owner at Elizabeth Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We spend a fortune to bring in our English beds, and it is true, they sleep on the firm side. I have always admired how Westin Hotels present their beds, very firm but with an extra soft layer under the mattress pad. We have now found our own solution, which is a thin mattress topper from the English bed company. Our beds will still sleep very much on the firm side, but with a fraction more cushion.

Pillows on the bed are quite full, with two alternatives at your disposal. A formed memory foam pillow sits on the top shelf in the closet, and thin pillows are availble upon request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I don't usually give such a great review, but this place deserves it. They thought of everything from heated bathroom floors and towel racks to I'm pretty sure it was organic soap I used this morning. And wow was the bed comfortable! The staff are great too. What can I say....I could not find one negative thing to say.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is by far the nicest place I have ever stayed.....There is no pool, hot tub or restaurant but the hospitality is outstanding!!!! They call you by your first name. They gave me chocolate when I arrived and fresh apple juice they had just made themselves. The room is clean and peaceful, like no ther place I have ever stayed before....Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is one of the best small hotels.motels I have stayed at in memory. I will not reiterate prior reviews in detail, but will stress again the hospitality of the hosts, including valuable local knowledge, and the cleanliness and quality of the furnishings, including the beds. And, as others have said, the outside belies this amazing inn, sitting as it does on the highway and near the railway. But enter a room, which the host himself showed us fro approval rather than simply handing us a key (a forgotten piece of customer service at most lodging these days) and the unique hand-crafted furniture, heated tile floors and 'green' nature of the rooms tell you that you are in for a treat. There is a park at the back of the Inn, so get a room upstairs that looks onto trees and some water beyond. And make use of the host's recommendations for a simple lunch (Hotshots Cafe) or an excellent dinner (Allegra). This one is worth going out of your way for a stay.

Room Tip: Get one that looks out on the nature walk, 'fen'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donquixote218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this motel over the internet relying on other reviews. When we arrived at the establishment, we were somewhat disappointed to say the least. Right on the main highway and a stones throw from the railway line. However, once I checked in and was shown the room, our mood lifted. As described elsewhere, there is underfloor heating and towel warmer in the bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable and adequately equipped. Being at the back of the building meant that were shielded from the road and rail noise. And it was a delight to enjoy a drink on the back deck in the last of the warm afternoon sunshine. There is little choice in the way of nearby (walking distance) restaurants. We settled on Magees Pub which was a few hundred metres up the road - it was excellent - good food, modest prices and very welcoming. Our hosts provided us with suggestions as to the route we might try the following day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrungaSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
6 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 18 in Cranbrook
306 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
16.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Address: 590 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 4W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Canadian Alpine Lodge located at the south entrance to Cranbrook, adjacent to Elizabeth Lake Conservation area. Try our history of Kootenays mini golf course or enjoy a walk along the Marsh Trail. The lodge features the finest king and queen beds in Cranbrook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Lake Hotel Cranbrook
Elizabeth Lake Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing