We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean place at a good price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Model A Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Model A Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice clean place at a good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We found the room quite nice and the staff friendly. Enjoyed our stay. But the continental breakfast was inadequate. In fact, of the 6 motels we stayed at this trip, this was the only one where we simply skipped the free breakfast and went to Denny's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and accommodating for an early check in. The breakfast was good though only cold. The model A car outfront was beautiful as well. Close to several good restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nautical2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stay here whenever we go through Cranbrook. Family-owned, family-run business, well-maintained, clean rooms, quiet, reasonable rates, decent breakfast. Motorcycle friendly. Good place to know about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsf123whoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We first stopped at the Super Eight. They had no vacancy. Good thing, super eights are always musty and overpriced. We went down the street to the Model A Inn. It was newly renovated, had a great price, and simple amenities such as a free continental breakfast(mind, the coffee could have been a lot stronger!). Great place to stop while passing through!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jman2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are originally from Cranbrook but moved away. We came to visit family in May, I had read the reviews and found the poor ones to be a bit on the strange side as I had stayed here before. We arrived after midnight and decided to speak to the owner about some of the reviews. It was all explained to me and he even offered to show me a room. We stayed for 5 nights and the room was clean, quiet and the staff were friendly-(even the lady at the front). Reasonable rate, clean room and quiet plus friendly owners..Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stopped here on our travels and it was terrible!!!!! Dirty old and out dated. The lady running this place was so rude as she talked about prostitutes(she used more foul words that they won't let me submit) in front of our young children. She also slammed other local businesses which we didn't get, why wouldn't you want to support the local economy. They have people who seem less savory living in some of the rooms one of which we are pretty sure had a " by the hour lady visitor!" We were so disgusted by the rooms and worrying about our vehicle that we couldn't sleep, so we woke the kids up really early to leave. We would have been better off sleeping in a vehicle with 3 kids. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSSSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungrytraveller_9, Public Relations Manager at Model A Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your taking time to post comments about your stay in our Hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service at The Model A Inn.

One of the most important goals for us is the safety and security of all our guests. That is why here at our motel we count on an external surveillance/security camera that operates 24 hours day (like most hotels/motels for security reasons). We have reviewed the records and there is no evidence of any person with three children who stayed in our motel in September.

As for your comments about other guests of our motel, I am sure no one appreciates being thought of "less than savory" nor a "by the hour lady". In today's society comments like that are deemed very judgmental and may even be a cause for a lawsuit (to make these comments on a very public forum). Not everyone in this world enjoys affluence or has the means to indulge themselves in a luxurious lifestyle. We host many tradespeople who do not go to work in a suit and tie, but do wear work clothes to earn their living. We do not pass judgement on our guests, their lifestyle, personal appearance or attire.

We do business and have friendships with many local folks who own or work for local businesses. We eat, work and reside in our community. It is the place we chose to operate our business. The Model A Inn and representatives encourage our guests to eat, visit and purchase at local favorites. We display and advertise businesses from all over the Kootenays in our establishment. We will recommend our "competitors" if we feel we will not be able to satisfy potential guest expectations. We are a small limited service budget motel, a 'mom and pop' motel, not an executive franchise with all the bells and whistles who cater to the executive business class (ie Hilton, HIE, Ramada, etc). We continuously make improvements to our motel to increase guest satisfaction including new carpet, fresh paint, new pet rooms, new kitchenettes, re-doing bathrooms and entryways, etc.

We have reviewed your observations with all staff. Our staff in general and our hotel are well known to be very accommodating and service oriented with our guests.

Thank you for your time and comments.
With our warmest regards now and in the future,
God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Wa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked with Model A Motel in Cranbrook BC through bookit.com We never got our confirmation email, thought we didn't get the room so went on down to Bonners Ferry Casino. We were charged $117.66 for our room when we didn't know we had it. When calling them the manager did not care in the least about us. He whined that someone waited four hours for the room. NO ONE waits four hours for a room in a town with that many hotels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthomas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungrytraveller_9, Public Relations Manager at Model A Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. It will certainly help us to keep us focused on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of booking standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Unforgettably, the reservation was made with Booking.com, not directly with us and we do not have access to cancel nor confirm any reservations made via that site. Please see the excerpt below from Booking.com regarding confirmations and cancellations of bookings (we meaning Booking.com, you meaning person who made the reservation):

HOW DO I KNOW MY RESERVATION IS CONFIRMED? As soon as you have completed the booking process the confirmation page appears. This page shows all of your reservation details, including the booking number and your PIN code, so you can access your confirmation online at ‘My Booking.com’. We also send you a confirmation email with all your booking information.
CAN I CANCEL OR CHANGE MY RESERVATION? Yes, it’s easy. You can cancel or change your booking via our self-service tool ‘My Booking.com’. Please, remember to check the hotel’s cancellation policy before making any changes to your booking. Non-refundable rooms and other special deals can have a different cancellation policy. Room specific cancellation information is included beside the room type under the ‘Conditions’ column. Your PIN code is the 4-digit number on your booking confirmation, which in combination with your booking number, allows you to login to ‘My Booking.com’. On ‘My Booking.com’ you can view, change or cancel your booking. Please keep your pin code confidential.

Furthermore we would like to express our appreciation for your concerns, and hope this exerpt makes it easier for guests to confirm or cancel any reservations made through Booking.com.

Best Regards & God bless you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#5 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.9 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Motel
Travellers Motel
#8 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Model A Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Model A Inn

Property: Model A Inn
Address: 1908 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Model A Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean Quiet Comfortable! Traditional Value, Modern Convenience and Freindly Old Fashioned Service! Call 1-250-489-4600Hospitality Room Breakfast included with your Stay.Jacuzzi Room Packages Kitchenettes and Extended Stay Suite Non-Smoking Pet Rooms. Wedding Rates Available (book 15+rooms, get Jacuzzi Suite Free for Bridal Couple)We Welcome Tour Buses & Groups,Families, Seniors and All Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Model A Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing