We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a 7-day stay at St. Eugene's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Experience of a 7-day stay at St. Eugene's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bed is comfortable, which is extremely important. But a few times, the room was not re-stocked properly - things missed were no sugar for coffee, missed towels, and dirty glasses not washed and replaced with clean ones.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra V, General Manager at St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. More importantly, I am happy that you enjoyed our beds but have to apologize for the less than stellar room service you experienced .
As a St. Eugene hotel guest, there is a high level of expectation. Clearly, we did not live up to our reputation this time. You could have quietly left and never returned however you were thoughtful enough to provide us with your feedback.
please be assured that the service issue has been addressed and hopefully we will have another opportunity to redeem ourselves upon your next visit to our beautiful city.

Sincerely,

Sandra van Steijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    237
    63
    28
    14
See reviews for
123
317
15
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Arrived at 4pm and room wasn't ready....but we were accomodated and given a room with no view (tree branches) this proved to be a good thing..as the wind and the sounds of the leaves made for a great sleep on a very comfortable bed. The room was big but had an empty feeling as it lacked furniture....Loved the lounge....food and service was great....Fred's in the casino is worth a miss..food was expensive and not good,the service was questionable and the plastic/disposable(non-enviro.friendly)everything was a huge dissapointment...this space is under utilized and has great potential....
Loved the golf and the facilities...the hotel/golf/ lounge staff were fabulous.....we'll come back as the pkg. was a great price

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canmoreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a wonderful 2 day stay. The Travelzoo voucher was exceptionally good value. Accommodation very comfortable and well appointed. Golf course in mint condition. Staff friendly and helpful. Food and wine in lounge a bit pricey but within reach. Cheers, Greg

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We travelled throughout southern Alberta and this was the cheapest and best hotel in our entire trip. We got a "super summer deal" directly through the hotel's website.
We sometimes have trouble sleeping in a new place but we slept through a thunderstorm this time. The room was quiet and the beddings super comfortable. We took a walk in the morning to admire the immaculate grounds and golf course.
The only cons were that the jets didn't work in the hot tubs (they had two), being far from town (~10mins drive), and the casino patrons took up many spots in the upper parking lot. We didn't try the food so cannot comment.
We'd come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonEthanDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall a good stay. Food was lacking and not what was expected at this caliber of resort. Fine dining needs to encompass all aspects - food, cleanliness, service and locale. The breakfast buffet at Purcell's was over cooked in some items offered. Surprised with this. Being greeted at the main entrance (gates)by a teenage boy who didn't know what day and time it was, as well couldn't differentiate between night and day really does take away from the experience and the classiest that you are trying to achieve. Regardless, we most likely will consider returning. Suggest you offer more dining options for people with children. Meaning places to eat, not menu items.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Storm2640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We purchased a voucher from Travelzoo for 2 nights accommodation and a round of golf for two. What a bargain. The resort is lovely. Well managed with friendly and accommodating staff. We ate at three different venues and the food and service was all very good. The golf course is awesome and be sure and take your camera as there is some beautiful scenery. We enjoyed the the golf course so much we golfed a second day as well.

Room Tip: On our package we stayed in one of the lodge rooms with two queen beds. We will definitely be back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfinggrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the setting among the mountains next to the St. Mary's River is stunning! The food was good and the only downside was the service, which was friendly but could be improved. We arrived at 3 p.m. and were told that our lodge room was not ready and could not be guaranteed until 4 p.m. We decided to take a walk around the grounds while waiting. At 3:45, our lodge room was still not ready.We were not in a rush and didn't complain, but this seemed unusual. The woman at the front desk staff said she would "juggle things around a bit" and gave us a room. Although this was not mentioned when we checked in, the room was designed for people with disabilities and there was a backhoe operating within a metre of our window which was noisy and distracted from the view and our privacy. No apology or explanation was given, nor were we offered the choice of waiting a few more minutes for a different room. Dinner at the dining room was very good, but the service left much to be desired. Although friendly, our server was absent for much of the time and we had to almost beg for our bill at the end. Finally, when we went to the Interpretive Centre the next morning at 10:30 a.m. (posted hours were 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.), it was still closed. Overall, however, the rooms and setting made up for the service, and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but the best value is the Lodge Rooms. Guests are cautioned that upper l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
13.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Property: St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Address: 7777 Mission Rd, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by the Rockies, the Purcells and the famous St Mary River, the St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino is a spectacular destination for getaways, vacations, conferences and retreats. The resort is located 10 minutes from Cranbrook, 5 minutes from the Cranbrook Airport and 20 minutes from the picturesque town of Kimberley. Within its historic walls and the connecting Lodge are beautifully appointed, modern guestrooms and conference facilities. Visit our Interpretive Centre operated by The Ktunaxa Nation Council to learn more about the building’s fascinating history, and the people, mythology and culture found only in this part of the world. St. Eugene offers a wealth of culinary experiences to please the palate and delight the senses. Onsite food and beverage choices include informal fine dining in the Purcell Grill overlooking the sun-drenched deck and golf course. For individuals looking for a more relaxed setting, unwind with tapas in the Fisher Peak Lounge, play a game of billiards or simply enjoy the 19th Hole Bar & Grill. Also on site is the Casino of the Rockies – decorated in a "Gold rush Boom town" theme with 224 slot machines, 10 table games and delicatessen style dining in Fred’s Saloon. In its inaugural year, our 18-hole, Les Furber-designed course was named "one of Canada’s top new courses" by Golf Digest Magazine. The pristine fairways and white sand bunkers wind their way through several different environments, creating a unique combination of links, forests and a spectacular view of the St. Mary River. Our fitness centre features a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, a heated pool and two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Eugene Golf Hotel Cranbrook
St Eugene Hotel
St Eugene Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing