We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really like this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really like this resort”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Took my Wife here for her birthday. Second time we'd stayed there, first time in the "older/original" building. Room was really nice, king size bed very, very comfortable. Food in the lounge and the golf club was very good. But our dining experience in the Purcell grill was excellent.
First time we've golfed here and really enjoyed it. Not the hardest course which is perfect for us, as we're not the best golfers! Playing golf with views of the mountains can't be beat in my opinion. GPS in the carts, water provided by starter. Course marshalls were very friendly, club pro even came and asked us about our round when we were having a drink in the lounge afterwards, which was a really nice touch.
Only complaint I had was that some of the servers seemed almost relectant to bring us glasses of water with some of our meals. Our first meal at the golf lounge took 3 requests to get water.
Oh, two complaints, the steam room didn't seem to be very hot in the spa.
We'll definitely be back and would recommend this resort to friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    241
    64
    28
    14
See reviews for
127
321
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perhaps golfers would enjoy this more but as a group of six who were looking for good accommodations, it was a disappointment. The casino was ok but certainly more of a 60+ crowd. The outdoor pool didn't look very inviting and getting to it from our room that was remote, made it not worth the hike.

The grounds were pretty around the main building but neglected where we were banished to. A dog owner had left a baggy of poop by he door and there was debris all about. Ugh!

Beds were awful and decor was conflicting and dated. A wedding reception played loud music into the night.

Highlight was the little golf pub that had excellent food.

So not what I expected for he price and based on reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYCRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were originally supposed to stay in Canmore for a few days, but were diverted due to the Alberta flooding. We decided to start heading toward Vancouver from Waterton and Cranbrook was along the way. We found the building and grounds of St. Eugene to be very beautiful with interesting history. We stayed in the "newer" wing and thought the rooms were very nice and clean - and big! Check-in and check-out were a breeze and every hotel staff member we encountered was friendly. Not bad at all for an unexpected stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing - we found them to be large, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went for a 3 night stay and play package. We golfed 3 courses (including the one right on site) and it was fantastic.

The rooms are good, very quiet. The staff in the casino were very friendly - made the experience of losing a little bit of money not that bad!

We also ate a few of the restaurants on site and did not have any bad food or experiences...great resort, would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sstrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a night here and played golf. The entire experience-room, golf and dining was exceptional. Course was well conditioned and beautiful. The room was very nice and comfortable in the Old Mission building. I would echo all the other glowing reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB8689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My thanks to the Ktunaxa First Nation for sharing thier history and opening this resort for us all to experience. Staff are pros. Golf course was in great shape. Food and service are both 5 star. This resort experience is an excellent mixture of Canadian First Nations history and current Canadian loves; Golf, mountains, and wildlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avocadomovado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice place to stay, bigger than average room, beds more comfortable than most hotels, definitely good value. Only negative for me was location isn't convenient but I wasn't there for the golf or casino; if I was, that wouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
4.4 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
13.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Property: St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Address: 7777 Mission Rd, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by the Rockies, the Purcells and the famous St Mary River, the St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino is a spectacular destination for getaways, vacations, conferences and retreats. The resort is located 10 minutes from Cranbrook, 5 minutes from the Cranbrook Airport and 20 minutes from the picturesque town of Kimberley. Within its historic walls and the connecting Lodge are beautifully appointed, modern guestrooms and conference facilities. Visit our Interpretive Centre operated by The Ktunaxa Nation Council to learn more about the building’s fascinating history, and the people, mythology and culture found only in this part of the world. St. Eugene offers a wealth of culinary experiences to please the palate and delight the senses. Onsite food and beverage choices include informal fine dining in the Purcell Grill overlooking the sun-drenched deck and golf course. For individuals looking for a more relaxed setting, unwind with tapas in the Fisher Peak Lounge, play a game of billiards or simply enjoy the 19th Hole Bar & Grill. Also on site is the Casino of the Rockies – decorated in a "Gold rush Boom town" theme with 224 slot machines, 10 table games and delicatessen style dining in Fred’s Saloon. In its inaugural year, our 18-hole, Les Furber-designed course was named "one of Canada’s top new courses" by Golf Digest Magazine. The pristine fairways and white sand bunkers wind their way through several different environments, creating a unique combination of links, forests and a spectacular view of the St. Mary River. Our fitness centre features a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, a heated pool and two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Eugene Golf Hotel Cranbrook
St Eugene Hotel
St Eugene Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing