We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Hut

Spice Hut
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Spice Hut is an Authentic Indian Restaurant that features popular East Indian Cuisine. Our Chefs all share a great amount of first hand experience with this type of ethnic dining. Each locations has its very own Tandoori Oven, and all of our recipes are made from scratch, providing the richest tastes!
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Some of the best East Indian food I have every had and I have had quite a bit. Got the butter chicken and curry beef - both medium spice. The naan bread and rice were also good. Would definatly go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSquared31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have patronized this restaurant on several occasions. The food and service have always been excellent. Best Indian food in south eastern British Columbia. Clean and modern decor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WL-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food - you found it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Authentic Indian cuisine in a pleasant atmosphere...we keep coming back and it's good every time. The cook accommodates our request to keep the spiciness down to a low level. It's a good value for the money...we generally take home leftovers that are good for another full meal. The chicken Tikka Masala and Tandoori chicken are just wonderful; the perfect side is garlic naan. The owner comes out to check if everything's to your liking...a throw-back to another era in the service department. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very tasty but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of having lunch at the Spice Hut this past week. It was our first time in an East Indian Restaurant and were very interested in their menu. The server was very helpful explaining the menu and the fact each dish is ala carte.
We chose two different dishes so we could share, I had the butter chicken, my husband opted for the Curried Shrimp. We each also ordered as a side rice and Naan Bread. The food came quickly and she had brought use extra plates for sharing, the rice was a large portion as well as the Naan bread, next time we will only order one side of each, the butter chicken was delicious as well as the curry. The amount of sauce with each was great but the amount of chicken in the sauce was very small, the shrimp were small and not many I think about 8-10.
The coffee which she told us was Kootenay Coffee roasted in Cranbrook was only warm, she never offered another cup and never came back to check how things were until she brought us take out containers to bring home the extra rice.
The decor is very nice the servers look very nice in their uniforms. I really hope this place can make in Cranbrook it s a great addition.
Lunch for two including tip with no alcohol was $53.00 ok for dinner but a little high for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepyj93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Delicious Korma sauce! Unfortunately their oven was broken so no Naan :(
The owner come over and apologized - nice touch.
Prices not cheap, but food was very delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Hut also viewed

 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Spice Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing