We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating, as usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very accommodating, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stay at the Cranbrook Sandman often and it is definitely the property of choice in Cranbrook for me. Business, overnight trips with my husband, and girlfriend getaways - this is where I stay. I am one of those guests, you know the one - always asking for more coffee, help with the TV, and late check-outs. Staff and management are very accommodating and I feel welcome - always!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyGourmetBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are happy that you have chosen the Sandman as your accommodation of choice, while staying in Cranbrook. One of our main goals is extending excellence in service to our guests. We believe friendliness and helpfulness are two of the essential ingredients in hospitality. See you next time.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    21
    12
    15
See reviews for
30
20
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is getting a bit tired and is located right beside the main railroad tracks and next to an empty lot used by truckers to park their rigs .. both provide lots of noise all night long!

We had a pet room but the lack of cleanliness went beyond pets.

The ladies on the front desk were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay near the front of the hotel further from the train tracks and away from the empty lot on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Some of our rooms are located by the railroad tracks. Often those familiar with our property and who do not want to hear the sound of the trains will request a room away from the tracks, so that their comfort is not compromised. I am happy to hear that you found our front desk staff to be pleasant and helpful and hope that you will visit us again when you are in Cranbrook.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cranbrook hotels

Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was okay, very average. The rooms were clean but on the smaller side. The location was good because it was on the highway and we were just driving through. We were charged $10 for a "cot" that was no more than an air mattress. The pool though...!!...was disgusting! The water was a yellow/green. There is no way any of our kids would even think of going in there. The main choice on hotels is the pool (for our kids) and they couldn't even use it. If the pool was being repaired, a courtesy notification would have been appreciated. I would never stay there again simply because they didn't tell us that the pool was not in working order.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. There were definitely two oversights on our part concerning your stay. One was being charged $10.00 for an air mattress and the other was not being told of the condition of the pool. We realize how important a good looking pool can be to our guests. Our pool has now been closed for extensive renovations and will re-open soon with a much improved look. I hope that you will give us another chance as your choice of accommodation in Cranbrook.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been staying here once a month for two years now, so I have noticed a big change in two years.
The manager that used to hold things together has had health issues, and is not always working, so that could be one factor, but other things are becoming noticeable.
The coffee pot in my usual room was chipped 3 months ago, and not replaced.
Wifi was not working last month, fixed now.
The mirror in the room I am in now, has fallen off the wall and is now just propped up on the sink countertop.
The Pool is now a "Green" Pool, a lovely shade of lavender has the water, and of course no one dares to swim in it.
Housekeeping is doing a great job of keeping everything clean, but it appears as if the parent company has abandoned this property and is not putting any money into it, I would not be surprised to see this property up for sale in the near future.
Last night, high summer season, only 4 rooms booked, parking lot had 2 cars, so that's me, and 3 other people.
Staff is still friendly and attentive, but that only goes so far.
My advice? avoid this place

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for being such a faithful guest for the past two years. The manager did have health issues for several months and is now back on a regular basis. It certainly sounds like we have overlooked a few things, such as the fallen mirror and chipped coffee pot. From you comments, it is evident that housekeeping is doing a great job, which is gratifying to hear. Regarding the pool, we have had some filtration issues, but have now addressed this. Also, we just closed the pool down for six weeks in order to do an overall renovation, so it is now in a much improved state. Also, your positive comments on the staff are much appreciated, as we strive to provide excellence in service. In light of recent improvements, I would encourage you to give us another chance as your choice of accommodation while in Cranbrook.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This property used to be a preferred choice in Cranbrook but it has really lost its lustre.Our room had an old air conditioner that was held together with duct tape. It worked rather poorly. The wall paper on either side was peeling.
The property has become old and outdated in feel. Given the price ($114) this is not good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate guest reviews whether positive or negative. Our property is an older property and we are always endeavouring to make things look better, which can be a challenge at times insofar as constant upkeep. Regarding air conditioners, we are in the process of replacing the older ones. Sometimes, we do overlook the appearance in certain areas and are happy when a guest points out a defect. We hope that you will stay with us again when in Cranbrook.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here as a middle destination for our trip. It was just a night. We found the hotel staff very friendly and easy to work with. The hotel room was so small, that it felt like even for two of us we were tripping over each other. Any more time here and claustrophobia would have set in, that being said, the rooms were spotless and clean.

Room Tip: I think ones with two queen beds would be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairiegirls16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Regarding the size of the room which you occupied, it sounds like it was a room with one queen bed, which are quite small. We encourage you to request a room with two beds or a king size bed. These rooms are much larger and would probably better suit your accommodation needs.

Regards,
General Manager
Dan Schellenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

On arrival I was informed that my reservation rate ($79.00 per night) had not been confirmed with the reserving organization but they were pleased to offer me a Queen room with breakfast for $94.00 plus taxes. I accepted that but, after consideration; requested the original rate.
The room was the smallest I have experienced in a national chain. The bathroom door would not open fully because the toilet was in the way. The two lower drawers were unusable because of damage to the right hand side of the dresser. The refrigerator door was difficult to open because it rubbed on the unevenly carpeted floor.
The next morning we had breakfast with others attending the same event and I learned the breakfast offered with the Queen room was limited to 2 scrambled eggs, 2 pancakes, 1 sausage, and 1 bacon - no substitutions and coffee was $2.50. One person did not want the pancakes but was informed they were part of the breakfast. We had our choice of breakfast with coffee and tip for $20.95.The following morning I remembered a restaurant where I had eaten for many years and we had the breakfast special (eggs,bacon, ham, or sausage, toast, hash browns, home-made strawberry jam or marmalade, and coffee plus tip for $20.00. The service was more efficient and pleasant than Denny's. The Grill is opposite the Days Inn and a 5 minute drive from thew Sandman. The staff were pleasant and efficient and the day clerk explained the difficulty with uneven flooring resulted from the building settling. The bed was comfortable and I slept well but I won't be returning to the Sandman.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. The room you stayed in was one with one queen bed. We do have larger rooms and if you decide to stay with us again, I would encourage you to ask for one. Regarding the quote for the room, it is definitely good practice to honour the quote we originally extend to you. This is normal practice with us and I apologize that it did not happen in your case. We now include coffee or tea in our breakfast package. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#6 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn Cranbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Property: Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing