We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again anytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would stay there again anytime”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I arrived there late not sure of what to expect. The lady at the counter was exceptionally pleasant, and helpful. The motel is older but the room was clean, did not have any odors, it was quiet, the beds was very comfortable. The bathroom was updated and clean, very clean. I have stayed in a lot of motels, here you get a very reasonable room for a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
15
18
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice surprise, having read lots of unfavorable reviews of EconoLodges across the nation I was hesitant on stopping in one. But the day had turned out to be longer then expected, so as I drove through Cranbrook BC at 8:30 pm I made a hasty, snap decision as I saw the Econo sign coming up on my right. Glad I did.

This place turned out to be very decent and reasonable priced. It did help I had a CAA/ AAA membership, $80 for the night.

The room was very adequate, and larger then had been expected. I found the bed to be very comfortable, oh and the bathtub was clean as in shine. I prefer bottom floors of motels and was fortunate to get one here.

The front desk was real accommodating and friendly both evening and day shifts. Super location lots of fast food and regular restaurants all with-in walking distance, big ole mall across the street with Target etc in it, movie theater in same mall.

Overall worth your effort if you are wanting to take a break and put your feet up for the nite or even a few.

If you know you will be coming this way during the summer I would recommend booking in advance as a place like Cranbrook can get very busy during the summer months.

Room Tip: I prefer the bottom floor as this is a motel with outdoor access, even though close to the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at this Econolodge while driving from Seattle to Calgary. The hotel was conveniently situated on the main road that passes through Cranbrook. The hotel is also close to different fast food places and some stores. The rooms are pretty old, but they are clean. Beds are comfortable. Staff was also very welcoming and friendly. The only problem that I had was the wi-fi. The connection kept on dropping and finally, after a few attempts I decided that it was useless to try anymore. Overall, a very good hotel, a bit old but still a great place to stay at for a few nights. There is an outdoor pool at this hotel but it was still to cold for it to be open when I was staying here in early March.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of bags and don't want to drag them up the stairs (there is no elevator) I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYC_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I'll be honest, the only reason we picked this hotel is because we were due to drive up 93 the next day and this is the closest hotel in town to the Highway!
This place is really cheap but did exactly what we needed it to do: 2 rooms, choice of places for dinner within walking distance and a Ricky's on site for breakfast.
It would benefit from a bar however the liquor store is just across the street.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGoose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thyholm, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Turned out there was a golf tournament going on, so we went to Cranbrook. Actually twice within a few days -took a trip to Banff inbetween....
We like Cranbrook for the busy and noisy hub that is. And not too far away from the family we are seeing when in this area.
Kimberley is quieter and more luxurious -at least up on the hill. But also much more expensive.
We'd had a good experience with Econolodge in Kamloops on the way from Vancouver, so we decided to give this a try.
Smart move!! Nice and clean. Good beds. And even though we had a ground floor close to the main road, there was not much noise.
We've stayed in more luxurious places -and paid the price. But if you just need a place to sleep and shower, this is a good choice. And the nearby reataurant, where you get a 10% discount is well worth it.

Room Tip: You'd probably want to get as far back as possible. The main road is close by. But not so intrud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the EconoLodge as it was the closest location to Kimberley, BC. Basic motel with basic ammenities. Decent rates and the motel was full. Location was central with a lot of food and services nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good price, quiet sleep & pet friendly. When I first arrived the staff was friendly and the room looked nice. BUT I moved a chair later in the evening and there was a pair of dirty socks just sitting there! That of course made me look around. There was nail clippings on the floor between the beds. I did check the linen seemed clean and the bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: Check the room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_97_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#12 of 17 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#6 of 17 in Cranbrook
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites

Property: EconoLodge Inn & Suites
Address: 1417 Cranbrook St N | North, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S7, Canada (Formerly Coach House Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing