We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegra Restaurant

Allegra Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Allegra Restaurant specializes in Mediterranean fine dining with a seasonal changing menu. The open kitchen atmosphere allows patrons to watch the chef prepare meals. An extensive wine, beer and martini list completes a memorable dining experience.
Fernie
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fabulous dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food and service at the Allegra are both outstanding. The restaurant is small, and very quaint. The owner/chef Thomas Nay can be seen in the kitchen when you walk in and if the timing is right and he sees you coming in, he will greet you with a very friendly smile and hello. The staff are always very pleasant and cheerful making sure that you are taken care of very quickly.
Last night we were not that hungry and shared the stuffed chicken. While eating our meal I told my wife I could just have the vegetables as they alone were so good. The chicken was also outstanding.
We have dinner at Allegra whenever we are in Cranbrook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulW451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    47
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mantoloking
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cranbrook Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Driving from Waterton Lakes National Park to Lake Louise. Decided to overnight..chose Cranbrook. Looked on Trip Advisor and found the #1 reviewed restaurant in the town. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED. Original menu..respectable service..tasty food. Would recommend when on the road to Lake Louise.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the Privelege of having Dinner at Allegra in Cranbrook. Wife had stuffed chicken and I had pork medallions. One of the BEST meals we have ever had and we have had a lot during our 37 years of marriage. Can't believe this jewel is in Cranbrook, the Chef Thomas Nay would be succesful in a much larger venue. Service and drinks were also excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Allegra a number of times, and this did not disappoint. They are currently featuring local grass fed and finished beef, which was among the best I have ever tasted. The lobster bisque as an appetizer to share was delicious as well. Service and atmosphere were fabulous and I can't wait to come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KootenayGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“excellent experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we had to eat here. We were not disappointed. This is a small restaurant but luckily it was mid week - so seated right away. I love a place where you can walk up and talk to the chef while he is working.
I had the Watermelon Cold soup - to die for.....excellent and the ingrediants had a suprise that I had to interrogate the chef to find out the ingrediants, which he was very happy to share.
I had the chicken breast - exceptional preparation and plating.
The server was great, including recommending a wonderful local wine.
If in Cranbrook and you want an excellent dinner experience - go here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegra Restaurant also viewed

 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Allegra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing