We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning flavors, great service - Tomas is one of the best!!”
Review of Allegra Restaurant

Allegra Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Allegra Restaurant specializes in Mediterranean fine dining with a seasonal changing menu. The open kitchen atmosphere allows patrons to watch the chef prepare meals. An extensive wine, beer and martini list completes a memorable dining experience.
Cranbrook, British Columbia
1 review
“Stunning flavors, great service - Tomas is one of the best!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Steak was perfectly cooked with a great crusted parmesan topping, veggies el dente, wife had fish with scallops, a spciy tomato sauce and rice, lovely. Wine selection included local wines from Creston Skimmerhorn winery - perfect match!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5grandkids16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    47
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanson, MA
2 reviews
“Best in the area”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Thomas and Inez run the absolutely best restaurant in the Elk Valley. I come to Cranbrook annually on business and I am always on the lookout for the next best restaurant in the area. i have been pleasantly disappointed -- no one has come close to this charming little bistro. Thomas deserves a grander stage for his excellent presentations and delicious recipes. Do not miss this culinary oasis amid all the formula eateries on the strip. You'll kick yourself if you do.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BudTRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint with an amazing menu!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We visited this restaurant last weekend and enjoyed our experience immensely! The restaurant has about 8 or 9 tables, which only adds to its charm. The owner/chef is friendly and greets you with a warm smile as you walk past his kitchen. The waitresses were knowledgeable ... but the best feature was the food. The homemade ravioli that was stuffed with figs, ham and mascarpone cheese was delicious.... the au jus sauce on the steak was mouth watering and the lamb was so tender. Whether you feel like a few appetizers and wine or a full dinner, this IS the place to go in Cranbrook.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toewstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This is easily the best restaurant in Cranbrook. The food is great, the music is quiet and appropriate and the service is excellent. My husband and I will be back. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a delicious meal in a very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranbrrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service & private atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Anywhere else in Cranbrook does not even compare.

The dishes always look amazing and the flavors are incredible. Chef Tomas cooks meat to perfection and his sauces are delicious. Everything we have tried on the menu from fish to chicken to steak has been excellent - our favorites things are the lamb, dauphene potatoes, pork medallions, strip loin, and you have to try the allegratini!

The service is always attentive but not overbearing, the atmosphere is private, and it is a
nice touch to be able to see your chef & kitchen.

Also, very accomodating to families with small children - they always have yummy pasta and meat sauce for our little ones! We also came here for a work retirement party and they handle large groups with ease.

We recommend this great restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djlbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegra Restaurant also viewed

 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Allegra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing