We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hidden away motel is a gem, and a bargain to boot. It is somewhat dated, but very comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen. The room was spotless, and I don't think I have ever been in such a clean hotel room. The host is very friendly, accommodating, and caring. We stayed here twice, and I would go out of my way to stay here again as it is a great alternative to a chain hotel, or any other standard hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    50
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
47
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our three-day stay at the Pinewood in July was great! It's obvious that Dale really cares about the accommodations and the people who stay there! Every town should have places (and owners) like this! It reminds me of traveling as a teenager with my parents before nearly every home-town motel was replaced by the chain lodgings. The personal touch has been lost so many places. Our room (really a one-bedroom apartment with full kitchen equipped with all the utensils you need) was wonderful, absolutely clean and meticulously cared for. Dale greeted us multiple times as we came and went, visiting about our travels, hikes, wildlife sightings, etc. If you're looking for an incredibly clean and friendly place at a good value with lots of room and the bonus of a full kitchen, this is it! If you want a big lobby, fancy furnishings and inflated prices, definitely go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our room was very clean, neat and orderly. Outstanding service and excellent value! The hosts left extra towels in our room the evening before we went white water rafting with a note wishing us a wonderful rafting experience. Very pleasant...will stay there again when visiting Golden.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here on my cross-country trip because of the reviews on tripavisor and I was delighted. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable and I could have used a hair dryer that night, but it didn't matter. The overall atmosphere and amenities were great (fully equipped kitchen, couch, wifi, quiet, wonderful smell from pine? trees in the area). I felt like was in a home, not a hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stop in Golden once or twice a year and have stayed at a number of places, none of them worth what I payed. Pinewood is a happy exception. Not at all luxurious (the decor is 1950s trailer park), but the tiny rooms provide everything you need: good bed, well-appointed kitchen, cleanliness, quiet, TV, Internet, friendly owner. Obviously I would not give this motel 5 stars in Vancouver, but in Golden it's a gem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Decided to try the Pinewood after reading all the excellent reviews on trip advisor. They were spot on ... service was fast and friendly, the room (though basic) was spotless and had all the amenities I needed. Absolutely the best value for your money, would recommend highly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullymoptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September and liked it a lot. Dale welcomed us warmly and provided tips about the sights in the region. Rooms are very comfortable and superclean, with a fully equipped kitchen. Our room was very well maintained! Overall, we found the location quite convenient, away from the traffic and noise, but close to restaurants, supermarkets etc. at the same time. We highly recommend the place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batida0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Property: Pinewood Inn
Address: 1405 11th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Unit motel located in the town of Golden, BC. This cozy and quiet accommodation offers kitchen suites, separate bedrooms and a cabin each including the essentials for extended or overnight stays. This motel strives for clean and comfortable rooms with comfortable duvets and pillows at an affordable rate. Accommodations vary - sleeping 1-4 persons. BBQ's are available for your personal use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing