We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, quiet, friendly and cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, friendly and cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great experience here, Dale was so lovely and friendly and helpful and so was his young son. The place was cleaned so well and very quiet and cozy. We liked that it was away from the highway and we didn't hear the traffic noise all night. Paying $75 a night plus taxes we didn't expect the place would be the flashest accomodation in town, but it turned our better than we expected. It felt very homely and felet like i was visiting my grandparents place.
Dale takes pride in this place and was out fixing things up on the roves and renovating things and cleaning the whole time we were there.
We quite enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this to anyone especially on a budget as we are all for supporting little family businesses like this.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Room with 1 dble bed in a separate bedroom + 1 sgle bed in sitting / kitchenette are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
44
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The first thing we saw on arrival was that the place was up for sale which made us a little suspicious after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor.Dale,the owner,was very helpful but on entering our room we found a musty smell.However this soon cleared on opening the windows.Room was clean and had a kitchnette but you coul tell this was an older property and in need of an update.Even though the area doesn,t look the best we found the motel very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWigan_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It may not look or be the fanciest place in town but it's incredibly clean, quiet and spacious. It's right off the highway and close to everything you need, but not so close you can hear the traffic. Other guests were polite, friendly and quiet. The large kitchen area and bbq outside make it easy to save on eating out for the budget conscience traveler. The pinewood was at least $40 cheaper than any of the hotel chains we looked into and I think we got more for our money at the Pinewood. This will be my go to place in Golden should I ever travel back that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The motel was very clean, quiet and the owner was very helpful. He suggested a visit on the way home to the Takakkaw Falls and it was worth the extra hour. We stayed one night and it was a great spot to sleep in Golden. Our kids loved the bunk beds. More bunk beds are need for families. Thanks so much!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dale is a gracious host. He puts in the hours to make sure you are at your most comfortable and relaxed self. The kitchenette was immaculate and an added bonus was the barbecue out front ready to sizzle some streaks we bought from a local market (saved much from not having to eat out every meal). Dale encouraged us to different lo-cals and he sure knows his stuff. Strongly recommend this fine establishment!

Room Tip: The two Bedroom is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

As you approach this motel, you will be tempted to turn around and book another - from the outside and the location, it is pretty grim. However, the rooms are clean and huge, featuring a full size kitchen and sitting area. The beds are comfortable and the host is very friendly. The best news... its ultra affordable. Clean, cheap and quiet.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great value for money. Kids love the bunkbeds. It's a new renovated room so it's very clean. The top rating in Tripadvisor and the in-suite kitchen are the reasons we chose this place. The owner is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip4myself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Property: Pinewood Inn
Address: 1405 11th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Unit motel, locally operated by a husband and wife team. With unique and updated kitchenettes, suites, and cabins this motel strives for exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms with lux duvets and pillows at an affordable rate. Accommodations vary - sleeping 1-4 persons. BBQ's are available for your personal use during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing