We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice, Super Clean, Super Value for Money!”
Review of Pinewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pinewood Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
TV
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super Nice, Super Clean, Super Value for Money!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had to stay in Golden a couple of nights, we decided to stay 5 because this place is a perfect logistics base to visit the rockies without spending a fortune! The owner, Dale, is very kind and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the place is quiet (sometimes there's the train passing but it's not very noisy). In the neighbours there are fast food restaurants and you can use the barbeque. Very nice place. Really recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ask_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    54
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
52
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pinewood Inn is wonderful. The outside may raise your eyebrows if you haven't read the rave reviews, because it's just a row of concrete block units. But here's what you will find. The owners, Dale and Debi, are wonderful and very kind. We stayed in Unit 4. It was super clean. There was a nice bedroom with a double bed, a sitting room with a table, couch, and a single bed, a full kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, stove, sink, and cabinets, and a nice bathroom (that has been remodeled recently with pine) with a fan. There was china, flatware, glassware, pots and pans, a dish drainer, dish towels and cloths, ice trays....Every time I looked for something, from a Kleenex to a tea kettle to a floor fan, I found it. The bedroom had two closets and also shelves to put things away. Dale and Debi have thought of everything. I felt so much at home. We were tired of eating out continually, and it was great to buy groceries and fix meals in the kitchen. This was a perfect little "cabin" (even though it is not stand-alone) to use as a base for exploring the National Parks. My husband and I usually stay at Holiday Inns, so we are used to nice hotels, but I would prefer to stay at Pinewood Inn when I go to the Canadian Rockies. We stayed at Pinewood Inn 3 nights and then we went on to a guest cabin we rented for 4 nights in Field. The guest cabin was beautiful and nearly three times as expensive, but frankly we preferred Pinewood Inn because it was so comfortable and functional. We'll be back! Thank you Dale and Debi!

Room Tip: Unit 4 has a great kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larus-glaucescens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After spending hundreds of dollars a night elsewhere in the Canadian Rockies, it was wonderful to find this little gem in Golden at such a good rate. It is clean, spacious, and quiet. Our room (#4) had a full kitchen and AC. It's walking distance to Tim Horton's and a nice roadside ice cream stand. Dale is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floydian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good price for an overnight stay with the family - basic accommodation away from traffic. Good breakfast diner down the street on your way out. If your expectations are modest, then this should work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegman99_New
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Golden on our way to Calgary. After consulting TripAdvisor I decided to try the #1 rated place in Golden. The pictures on TripAdvisor and the Pinewood website do not do this fabulous little place justice. We requested the room with the bunkbeds and our girls were so excited to have their own room (away from mom and dad) with bunkbeds. Four hours into our trip and they said "This is the best holiday ever"!! That's a true testament from two young children. This is by far the cleanest holiday rental I have ever stayed in. It looks like they paint, put in new laminate flooring and shampoo the rugs after every guest....yes it's that clean!! The owners have done an amazing job and should be very proud of their mountain hide-away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelowna163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a separate room, kitchenette, could park beside the door, full size fridge, hosts very helpful, very clean, not close enough to town to walk to it in my opinion, but parking is free everywhere and there is no traffic. Well deserved top choice in Golden.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corremucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here travelling through. The location is great. It is close to the the highway wnd restaurants. The room had a kichenettte, which was a nice surprise. Room was clean and the staff were friendly. Dont dismiss it based on its look from the street.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandaerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Property: Pinewood Inn
Address: 1405 11th Ave N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Unit motel located in the town of Golden, BC. This cozy and quiet accommodation offers kitchen suites, separate bedrooms and a cabin each including the essentials for extended or overnight stays. This motel strives for clean and comfortable rooms with comfortable duvets and pillows at an affordable rate. Accommodations vary - sleeping 1-4 persons. BBQ's are available for your personal use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing