We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a quick meal but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABC Country Restaurant

ABC Country Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 56 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK for a quick meal but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We wanted a quick meal out and chose ABC for its family menu and location. The choice was a bit limited and the item I wanted had run out but we had not been told this when receiving the menu. Overall, it was a bit like a little chef. The service was reasonably quick, the food presented well and the price was a little on the high side for what it is but not massively so. They do have a separate over 60's menu and you get the feeling that this is their target audience. Nothing bad to say about it but wouldn't rave about it or go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wringworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty damned good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the adjacent Prestige Inn. We ate in this restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both times the service was excellent and the food was incredibly good value.
Special mention should be give to the guy in the lounge bar, I think his name was Ronnie. He was incredibly polite and sharp and delivered all drinks and food with a real personal style.
Thoroughly recommend this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
197 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“good family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

we stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Golden and the front desk gave us a couple of restaurants as advice. We choose the ABC Country as it sound like a family restaurant and it is. The service was alert and the food was very good. Compared with all the steaks etc. we had this so called "country food" was more than excellent.

Once you are in the neighborhood is is worth to stop there and have a dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected for a family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice decor, a step above what you see in other similar value family restaurants, good service and good food. Highly recommend the fish and chips. Nice crispy, light batter and flaky, tasty fish. Beer on tap is a steal with 3 local options and the kids menu goes a step beyond the usual chicken fingers. The only complaint that we had was the drinks being a little slow coming out but the restaurant was very busy so we'll let that slide.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LandJSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast service and the food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The waitresses were excellent and the food was good. The only problem I had was my spiced rum and coke, the coke was flat. We got the chocolate cake and it was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank griffin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Country Restaurant also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to ABC Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing