We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service - a real find of a restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Turning Point Restaurant

The Turning Point Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family owned business that offers pizza, pasta, steaks and burgers, etc. We have a separate kids menu and also offer take out and free delivery within the town of Golden. Patio seating in the summer or enjoy the warm fireplace in the winter. We welcome large groups. We also have plenty of space for parking
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great service - a real find of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

When you walk in and see a place (almost) full with lots of locals then this is always a good sign. We ordered pasta, ribs, the steak special, pizza and drinks. The menu was just the right size plenty of choice without being pages long. I had the pasta and the sauce was definitely home made and delicious. The service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble the waitress was friendly without being over fussy. We weren't rushed out of the door and allowed to eat at a good slow leisurely pace. We weren't expecting much from a small town restaurant, but what we got exceeded our expectations and then some! We will be eating here again without a doubt. This restaurant is excellent value for money with really good size portions and service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wringworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    106
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Meal Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family and I were spending the night in Golden and needed a place to eat. We checked out tripadvisor and found a restraunts that had positive reviews. The Turning Point was a great surprise. We have stop at many different restraunts on a travels and it has been hit or miss. Well this was a hit...a home run!!!! We had excellent customer service with our server Shauna. She took the time to make us feel welcome and really showed she cared about our meal experience. We all tried different meals from steak, to pizza to a rice bowl and everyone truly enjoyed what they ordered. We would recommend the Turning Turning Point as a meal destination for any traveller going through Golden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BCBounders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find in golden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal at TP. The atmosphere was calm, wait staff was helpful, and with a diverse menu, everyone in the family found something great. I highly recommend the rice bowls and cheesecake for dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gull2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant with good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

After a string of bad experiences in hotels in the Calgary and Banff area this was a welcome change! The food was good, the wings were spicy, the pizza was a novelty. We ordered the Greek pizza, which was a pizza with a Greek salad on top. Nice concept. The tomato pieces could have been cut smaller. The falafels were very nice and soft.

Service was good not the greatest. I am not a big fan of waiting staff making up what a chef can or cannot do without checking till I prompt the to check! But, a small snag in an otherwise good experience.

Good decor, tacky entrance. Overall one of the better places in Golden.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We (8adults and 2 children ages 5 years and 2 years) had the opportunity to eat at the Turning Point on June 27, 2014 during a stopover in Golden. I can only say 10 people absolutely loved their meals and the service that was equally as superb as the meal. For the number of people and number of different orders the orders came out promptly and well prepared. I would advise people if you have a chance to try the Turning Point to satisfy your need for excellent food and service you should really stop in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olddinger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turning Point Restaurant also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Turning Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing