We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true voice for wolf conservation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre

Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Golden
Attraction details
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A true voice for wolf conservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was sorry to see one or two negative reviews, they sum up the ignorance of the contributors not the experience at Northern Lights.

We spent an afternoon here and, the next day, had the incredible experience of going on a walk with two of the wolves, the beautiful Maya and the boisterous Scrappy Dave.

This is not a zoo, it is part of a serious attempt by Shelley and Casey to highlight the plight of wild wolves in Canada. To the eternal shame of that country the governments of both British Columbia and Alberta ignore scientific evidence and encourage the killing of wolves.

None of the wolves here have been taken from the wild.

On your visit you will find out why it is vital for the ecology of Canada that the hunting of wolves is stopped. We had a fascinating talk from Dave who explained the role of wolves in the natural world.

This is a fascinating and worthwhile project so go along and support it. If you get a chance to book a wolf walk don't hesitate it will be one of the great experiences of your life.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    99
    45
    26
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Northern Lights Wildlife Centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited in early August on our way through to Calgary. After 2.5 weeks in Canada and looked forward greatly to the visit to NL Wolf Centre. In my mind it was already one of the highlights before we got there, the chance to see the wolves for real for the first time. Sadly it didnt quite live up to expectations. Great website but we left a little less impressed. The wolves were sadly a little more like mans best friend, somehow we had expected more. The kids were of the same opinion so I guess it wasnt just us adults. I wouldnt say dont go, you may get more out of it than we did, and you can combine it with a visit round the corner to Leo Downeys Bison farm (which was great) so you get both sides of the predator - prey relationship!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthernScot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stopped here on vacation. Loved being able to see all the wolves and the owners and staff are very educated and give talks throughout your visit. Have lots of other things around like pelts and artifacts. A cheap and nice way to spend the afternoon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

An amazing group of people trying to save the Wolf! I am in awe of this place and still unable to switch my brain off about it.

A 30 minute talk while watching these amazing animals and then you are able to have a look around yourself.

Just remember that this is completely self funded so don't go in expecting a huge wildlife center and just enjoy being in the presence of a wild Wolf with people that are completely in it for the animal!

Gift shop was lovely and very reasonable in price! If I lived in Canada, you couldn't keep me away from the center and the cause!

Thank you Northern lights!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Devon_Kat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by on a cold September day and were given a wonderful presentation on the wolves and the environmental pressures they are under and their place in the local and regional ecology. The staff were friendly and informative. Remember to bring cash to pay though.
Thanks. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre also viewed

 

Been to Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing